Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Computers > Web design and Programming
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Web design and Programming Discuss website creation and other programming topics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2006, 06:59 PM
gcxboxps is offline gcxboxps
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1

RollEyes HTML Issue, Help Needed

Is there some way where I can make my webpages automaticly update the columns where the links and etc. are stored?

Ex. On the left of my website you will find the navagation with all the links to different areas to the site there, and for each one of those areas of the site has its own layout. So if I where to add a new link to the main index(homepage) file, I would have to go back into every page that I have created with that same navagation to the left, and add that one or so links.

My question is, can I do something where, when I add a link to my navagation, it will automaticly be added to the rest of my webpages?

I know there should be a way to do this, so anyone's help will be great.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2006, 07:01 PM
BlackVentur is offline BlackVentur
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92

(Update) Sorry, that was me who posted that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2006, 07:09 PM
Jeff is offline Jeff
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,602

Send a message via AIM to Jeff
You can use a small PHP code, the include function i believe that can import the code from another .html file or .txt and place it on each page so that you only have to change a single file.

edit- 1400
__________________
Exit 13 - Web design and development.
My Blog - Read up on what i'm up to.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2006, 07:13 PM
DevilDog#1 is offline DevilDog#1

Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7,040

Need a template bud.
__________________








Quote:
If I don't do that doesn't mean I can't - DD#1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2006, 07:26 PM
Jeff is offline Jeff
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,602

Send a message via AIM to Jeff
Show us the actual site you're putting it into and we can show you the code that needs to be implimented.
__________________
Exit 13 - Web design and development.
My Blog - Read up on what i'm up to.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:20 PM
BlackVentur is offline BlackVentur
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...mith/demo1.jpg
Here is a link to a preview of it. I haven't currently uploaded it to my hosting account.

Also, I'm using Microsoft Frontpage to edit this website
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:24 PM
DevilDog#1 is offline DevilDog#1

Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7,040

It would work if you keep navs frozen and change the middle content
__________________








Quote:
If I don't do that doesn't mean I can't - DD#1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:31 PM
BlackVentur is offline BlackVentur
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92

Ok, that sounds great, but I'm a little noobish to that area.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:47 PM
DevilDog#1 is offline DevilDog#1

Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7,040

www.w3schools.com "It's better to teach hungry to fish than fish for him and feed him"
__________________








Quote:
If I don't do that doesn't mean I can't - DD#1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:56 PM
BeBop is offline BeBop
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 600

Send a message via ICQ to BeBop Send a message via AIM to BeBop Send a message via Yahoo to BeBop
you could it a variety of ways, frames being the least friendly - you can use php includes or SSI includes - depending on which your host has to offer adn which one you are more comfortable with.
__________________
- My: Drawings, rants, raves, my cat, designs, and everything else i want to put on the net.
Free Teamspeak servers: http://gamersnetwork.us/

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-02-2006, 09:31 PM
BlackVentur is offline BlackVentur
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92

Could you like direct me on that site where I need to look, because theres a lot of files.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-02-2006, 10:31 PM
BlackVentur is offline BlackVentur
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92

I'm going to need like someone to be able to get on msn messenger or something like that with me and help me out, cause I learn better that way.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-03-2006, 10:45 AM
BeBop is offline BeBop
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 600

Send a message via ICQ to BeBop Send a message via AIM to BeBop Send a message via Yahoo to BeBop
you could do it a variety of ways as i said before...

one way:

have the content area blank and do this where you want content, and on the links have them be ?view=game [or] ?view=other <?
if($_GET['view'] == 'game'){
include('game_content.php');
}elseif($_GET['view'] == 'other'){
include('other_content.php');
}else{
include('news.php');
}
?>
__________________
- My: Drawings, rants, raves, my cat, designs, and everything else i want to put on the net.
Free Teamspeak servers: http://gamersnetwork.us/

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-03-2006, 11:26 AM
BlackVentur is offline BlackVentur
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92

How would I put a code like that in HTML? Sorry for the noobish questions.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-03-2006, 03:44 PM
BlackVentur is offline BlackVentur
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92

Also a reminder that I'm using HTML, so could I even use PHP with that? If so how?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-03-2006, 07:26 PM
Jeff is offline Jeff
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,602

Send a message via AIM to Jeff
I'm pretty sure that you can just use PHP tags within the HTML.

<?PHP blah blah ?>
__________________
Exit 13 - Web design and development.
My Blog - Read up on what i'm up to.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-03-2006, 09:45 PM
BlackVentur is offline BlackVentur
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92

How would I go about that though? What code do I need to use for the navagation?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-03-2006, 11:46 PM
BlackVentur is offline BlackVentur
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92

Ok I found another way of doing this through Frontpage. It has a option that will allow you to share navagations between your webpages, and it doing exactlly what I need it to do. But the suckly thing about it is, if I wanted it to share the right side column, it will delete everything that I have added to the left side, and I would have to re enter the info in the left side, and then add the new info to the right, but I can work with that.
----------------------
My next problem is this, for some reason my background image is for some reason repeating itself. Here is a picture of it: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...mith/demo2.jpg

To the right, its like its repeating the background image again, and I don't want it like that. I want it to just stop at the right column. How can I do this?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-04-2006, 05:38 AM
Jeff is offline Jeff
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,602

Send a message via AIM to Jeff
style="background-repeat: repeat-y"
__________________
Exit 13 - Web design and development.
My Blog - Read up on what i'm up to.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:42 AM
BlackVentur is offline BlackVentur
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92

Ok, so I'm guessing I need to take that out, or put that in. I'll try both and get back with you.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Issue HTML forms + WinXP accounts + Multiple Browsers Lakie Tech Support 4 12-29-2006 03:20 AM
HTML Help nuCkle Web design and Programming 8 06-17-2005 09:28 PM
HTML Help ICE*IB* Web design and Programming 10 04-11-2004 11:37 PM
HTML? EDGE Web design and Programming 3 09-01-2003 08:13 PM
HTML is now off Lakie Web design and Programming 0 07-11-2003 08:16 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.




Powered by vBulletin®