Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Computers > Hardware and Software

Hardware and Software Discuss hardware, software and security related stuff

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2020, 09:57 AM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 21,033

Send a message via ICQ to Hellfighter
Monitors with USB ports?

I never own a monitor that has 2ea USB ports, what use can they be for? and how use them? use them like on the Pc tower USB ports


the monitor is hookup with DVI adapt > HDMI cable to Pc
this is the right adapter for all pins in the monitor shown in the image below
Attached Images
File Type: jpg s-l1600 (3).jpg (66.7 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg s-l1600 (4).jpg (59.7 KB, 3 views)
__________________
Skype: chiefadfp My Rumble.com
Discord> chiefadfp. Steam> Star-Fartńess>
Destiny 2

gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
My>Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com >
Facebook> Twitter>Parler ChiefAdfp>ICQ#757927306
image host site free to use
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2020, 01:41 PM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: 2077
Posts: 21,502

Send a message via ICQ to Steve
it can depend on the model, and ive never used USB on a monitor before but they can have various uses:

if it's USB A it's likely to be a straight extension/hub for usb devices, PC > monitor > mouse/keybaord

daisy chain monitors i believe is possible if they are USB C (i dunno maybe USB3 on an A connector as well), so multiple monitors from one video cable / video port on the PC.

also with USB C lightning you can output video and power for example from a laptop to a compatible monitor, check amazon for portable monitor.


the real answer for your specific monitor will be in the manual, a quick look at the specs online might tell you also.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2020, 10:20 PM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 21,033

Send a message via ICQ to Hellfighter
thanks steveb

will look for a manul of this monitor

that be a pain the monitor stand is seated on top of the ID plate for it lol
__________________
Skype: chiefadfp My Rumble.com
Discord> chiefadfp. Steam> Star-Fartńess>
Destiny 2

gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
My>Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com >
Facebook> Twitter>Parler ChiefAdfp>ICQ#757927306
image host site free to use
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2020, 04:14 AM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: 2077
Posts: 21,502

Send a message via ICQ to Steve
ha that's always the way!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2020, 10:30 AM
IcIshoot is offline IcIshoot

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, MI
Posts: 1,473

Send a message via AIM to IcIshoot Send a message via MSN to IcIshoot Send a message via Yahoo to IcIshoot
Apparently usb-c can carry 100 watts of power.
Quoting from ViewSonic - 'The ViewSonic VG2455 Series monitor, for example, utilizes USB-C to offer an all-in-one cable solution. With one powerful port, you can easily transfer power, data, and video, eliminating the clutter created by multiple cables and ports' -

though in checking the documentation for the VG2455, it still talks about plugging in a traditional power cord.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-15-2021, 03:30 AM
Tyr Anasazi is offline Tyr Anasazi
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5

With the traditional monitors it's just a way of a providing a convenient USB hub close to your keyboard/mouse. So you can plug your keyboard, mouse, usb keys in there without having go to below the table to fiddle with your PC.

Usually those ports are USB2 so I wouldn't use them for anything that requires speed, like external HDDs or similar.

As mentioned earlier in this thread, some newer monitors has USB-C, but I haven't had any experience with those. The only USB-C I have used is at work with a USB-C hub and it is not really anything I would recommend at all, it's quite unstable has hiccup's at the worst possible times.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-15-2021, 08:33 PM
jabo1SFH is offline jabo1SFH
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: AZ
Posts: 210

the it guy where i work uses the usb ports to hook up dual monitors.


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-15-2021, 08:53 PM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 21,033

Send a message via ICQ to Hellfighter
thanks for the info, that lot didn't know
__________________
Skype: chiefadfp My Rumble.com
Discord> chiefadfp. Steam> Star-Fartńess>
Destiny 2

gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
My>Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com >
Facebook> Twitter>Parler ChiefAdfp>ICQ#757927306
image host site free to use
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-19-2021, 02:36 AM
IcIshoot is offline IcIshoot

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, MI
Posts: 1,473

Send a message via AIM to IcIshoot Send a message via MSN to IcIshoot Send a message via Yahoo to IcIshoot
Just found out my Brother-in-law uses a setup like this - for his tablet.

Thanks to his monitor having USB-C, he can hook his iPad up to the monitor via the usb-c and with the one cord, both power/charge his tablet, and use the monitor as a secondary screen for the tablet.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-26-2021, 12:49 AM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 21,033

Send a message via ICQ to Hellfighter
Quote:
Originally Posted by IcIshoot View Post
Just found out my Brother-in-law uses a setup like this - for his tablet.

Thanks to his monitor having USB-C, he can hook his iPad up to the monitor via the usb-c and with the one cord, both power/charge his tablet, and use the monitor as a secondary screen for the tablet.
I can do same with my Pc and cellphone
Cell recorded sound I in turn use usb c-type cable plus cell to Pc transferring files, before had email said file were like 75mb mp3 using cable done that now takes 45sec now gmail like block all. Over 25mb lol
__________________
Skype: chiefadfp My Rumble.com
Discord> chiefadfp. Steam> Star-Fartńess>
Destiny 2

gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
My>Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com >
Facebook> Twitter>Parler ChiefAdfp>ICQ#757927306
image host site free to use
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.




Powered by vBulletin®