Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Computers > Tech Support

Tech Support Have a problem? Maybe we can help!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2004, 03:07 AM
Cujo>DK< is offline Cujo>DK<
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 67

Send a message via Yahoo to Cujo>DK<
Dedicated server

I need some advice before I do anything.

Now I'm wanting to either pay for or set up a dedicated server for my squad. I checked a few companies that offer Dedicated servers for just this purpose. Now some of the better ones were for $100-300 US a month.

This got me to thinking about setting up a server on my own and that's what I need advice on.

Just follow my line of thinking.

I can get a case, CPU, Motherboard, and HD (20 gig) for about $340.

Now I used to have a P3 500mhz with 192mb of RAM, and a 32mb Riva TNT2 Model 64. I asked the members, and they said with my old set up the hardly ever got lag, but there were problems with CI's. So on the server PC I was going to go with a faster CPU and more RAM to correct that issue.

Now to the basic questions that I have.

Is it possible to use a second PC as a dedicated server?

I've got a cable connection would I be able to connect the two PC's to the same cable line?


Let me know your thoughts on this so I can know if i'm barking up the wrong tree, or should I just break down, and pay $100-300 a month.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2004, 04:20 AM
Systemkaos is offline Systemkaos
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,736

Send a message via ICQ to Systemkaos
depends on your upload, if you host two BHD servers on the same router then one or the other will totaly suck, or maybe just both.

With a good server you need a good CPU and at least a gig of memory, and trust me mate nothing worth 340 bucks is going to host any thing good lol thats enough for a CPU and stick of memory LMAO

But trust me you need better then cable if you want to attempt to host 2 servers with out a small hiccup, trust me if you get all your squad to pay for it, iots well worth it
__________________
If any one wants a life i can email them in .rar and .zip format, although im out of sunlight
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2004, 01:43 PM
Charlie Daniels is offline Charlie Daniels
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 80

Send a message via ICQ to Charlie Daniels Send a message via AIM to Charlie Daniels Send a message via Yahoo to Charlie Daniels
You want 2 computers on the same line, like one dedicated server and then one computer that you use? Or 2 dedicated servers?

Systemkaos is right.

And by the way, you don't need a good video card to run on a server, unless you plan on playing on it also.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-19-2004, 05:55 PM
Cujo>DK< is offline Cujo>DK<
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 67

Send a message via Yahoo to Cujo>DK<
Quote:
Originally posted by Charlie Daniels
You want 2 computers on the same line, like one dedicated server and then one computer that you use? Or 2 dedicated servers?

Systemkaos is right.

And by the way, you don't need a good video card to run on a server, unless you plan on playing on it also.
Yeah it would be the server, and the other one would be the one that I use.

Mainly what I'd be hosting would be LW and/or TFD.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-19-2004, 06:41 PM
-Tigger- is offline -Tigger-
BB

Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5,331

whats ur connection speed?? I hosted a server on bhd on this pc and the internet was effected on the other pc...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2004, 06:49 PM
teej is offline teej

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,074

Send a message via ICQ to teej Send a message via AIM to teej Send a message via Yahoo to teej
for a good connection, u want a decent computer and a fast connection...an old squad of mine, the founder had two computers, 1 he hosted off and 1 he played on. there was a program so all u do it leave ur computer on and open this program and it shows the desktop of the computer you are hosting from. u can open programs ect. example...u can open bhd and host a server, close the program down on yo ur playing computer, then join your host so u would never ever have to toach your other computer.
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by Scott
ok, now that we are all a little dumber for reading that, back to how much IE is better than any other browser
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-19-2004, 07:15 PM
Systemkaos is offline Systemkaos
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,736

Send a message via ICQ to Systemkaos
most people call that remote administration
__________________
If any one wants a life i can email them in .rar and .zip format, although im out of sunlight
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dedicated Server Dragonator Gaming Talk 3 01-02-2006 09:13 AM
dedicated server smokinu Delta Force 0 07-30-2005 08:36 PM
dedicated server Stinger-I$T- Joint Operations 1 04-22-2005 09:45 AM
NEW DEDICATED SERVER EL_BASTARDO Gaming Talk 0 08-31-2003 03:37 PM
NEW SERVER, NOT DEDICATED YET ^Scarlet Tears^ Gaming Talk 0 03-01-2003 11:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.




Powered by vBulletin®