Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Games > Gaming Talk

Gaming Talk Post all your game related stuff here. This includes PC, Console, Handhelds etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2008, 04:26 AM
Chrispy is offline Chrispy

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peria, New Zealand
Posts: 6,770

Send a message via MSN to Chrispy Send a message via Yahoo to Chrispy
Smile Far Cry 2 Map Editor Makes Map Editing Easier

http://kotaku.com/5040279/far-cry-2-...editing-easier

http://kotaku.com/5039214/far-cry-2-...lutely-amazing
__________________
Intel Core Duo E7300 2.66GHz // SuperTalent DDR2 800 2GB // ASUS nVidia GeForce 8400GS 512MB // Western Digital 7200RPM 320GB SATA // LG GH-20LS 20X SATA DVD-RAM // Windows XP Pro 32-bit // Thermaltake XP550 NP 430W // Thermaltake SOPRANO SECC Black

Last edited by Chrispy; 08-24-2008 at 04:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2008, 06:49 PM
Mstenger404 is offline Mstenger404
Registered User

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,730

Send a message via MSN to Mstenger404
I think I just went in my pants
__________________


Intel Q9300 Quad~2.5Ghz
PALIT GTX570
ASUS GTX280 Dedicated PhysX
WD Velociraptor 300GB 10k RPM
WD Caviar Black 1TB 7,200 RPM
4GB Patriot DDR3 1333mhz
Intel BOXDX48BT2 X48
Corsair 1000Watt Modular PSU
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
ASUS VG238H 23" 120Hz 3D-Ready
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2008, 06:51 PM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,229

looks nice but no matter how easy something is, 99% of stuff made will still be complete carp
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2008, 07:44 PM
Mstenger404 is offline Mstenger404
Registered User

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,730

Send a message via MSN to Mstenger404
you gentlemen can expect nothing but quality from me, I'll get this on the PC and 360, so everyone (that matters on this forum) can experience my maps.
__________________


Intel Q9300 Quad~2.5Ghz
PALIT GTX570
ASUS GTX280 Dedicated PhysX
WD Velociraptor 300GB 10k RPM
WD Caviar Black 1TB 7,200 RPM
4GB Patriot DDR3 1333mhz
Intel BOXDX48BT2 X48
Corsair 1000Watt Modular PSU
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
ASUS VG238H 23" 120Hz 3D-Ready
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-25-2008, 12:11 AM
Chrispy is offline Chrispy

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peria, New Zealand
Posts: 6,770

Send a message via MSN to Chrispy Send a message via Yahoo to Chrispy
I'd love to see how this map editor goes. Sure there's a lot of map editors that are in 3D, but this editor just has something different to it.

The last 3D editor I ever used was NILE, and that was complete C-R-A-P.
__________________
Intel Core Duo E7300 2.66GHz // SuperTalent DDR2 800 2GB // ASUS nVidia GeForce 8400GS 512MB // Western Digital 7200RPM 320GB SATA // LG GH-20LS 20X SATA DVD-RAM // Windows XP Pro 32-bit // Thermaltake XP550 NP 430W // Thermaltake SOPRANO SECC Black
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2008, 06:31 AM
zza1pqx is offline zza1pqx

Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,629

Send a message via ICQ to zza1pqx Send a message via Yahoo to zza1pqx
I have to say fancy - create your own - quick editors offer no interest to me.
I love map making, it's how I got into online gaming in the first place. Some tonk called StevieB gave me 101 tips and then said I should pop into a server.
Bastard.
However when everything is as generic as painting with a brush then it's tough, despite the overwheling power of the editor, to create something unique that actually says to people who play - damn this is one of them Zza1pqx© maps - I love (or hate) them!

The joy of Novas editors was that whilst people could bang out maps quick and easy - you could tell a good quality mapper from a mile away and the community, including a lot of mappers who patronise this site, were producing maps that were distincitve to them and in many cases they were superior to the professional levels that Novalogic themselves were producing.

When I first played Halo3 I did a bit of mapping but was left feeling empty by the experience. Even though the end result always looked good and the interface was console friendly there has always been something lacking in the console modding experience.

Watching the video promo of this editor I have to say I was impressed but dubious.
Terrain editing is great. But can I build a hill exactly as I want it? And if I can make a unique hill and if I can spend a lot of time getting it just right so that vantage points give good protection but only once you finally made it in the race to get up there, will the end user really be able to tell the difference between a thoughtfully engineered terrain and something painted by an admittedly very powerful tool?

I have my doubts and it worries me that a talent can spend hours getting something right just for some nobody to get kudos because his stick work got lucky.






Then I saw the eiffel tower mock up and I got a small stiffy.



If they can get a good off-game prescence for mappers and give them the ability to present maps on a site like this then console perfection will be almost attained for me.
If you can upload a map from your 360 and then find out your wealthy snobby PC gaming friends are using it then there will be zero reason for me to ever want to return to PCs for games again.
This editor has sold a game to me that I might not have bothered with otherwise.
Genius.
Good link Chrispy cheers.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2008, 02:15 PM
Mstenger404 is offline Mstenger404
Registered User

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,730

Send a message via MSN to Mstenger404
I bet theres a small noticable difference between a well engineered hill and one made in 1 second.
you could tell your work payed off when you spectate a match thats running your map and watch the experience players use your perfect hill to their advantage more often than a 1 second hill that you probably placed nearby.


Quote:
Originally posted by zza1pqx
wealthy snobby PC gaming friends
/wrists
__________________


Intel Q9300 Quad~2.5Ghz
PALIT GTX570
ASUS GTX280 Dedicated PhysX
WD Velociraptor 300GB 10k RPM
WD Caviar Black 1TB 7,200 RPM
4GB Patriot DDR3 1333mhz
Intel BOXDX48BT2 X48
Corsair 1000Watt Modular PSU
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
ASUS VG238H 23" 120Hz 3D-Ready

Last edited by Mstenger404; 08-26-2008 at 04:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-26-2008, 02:52 PM
Chrispy is offline Chrispy

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peria, New Zealand
Posts: 6,770

Send a message via MSN to Chrispy Send a message via Yahoo to Chrispy
And you are right about distinguishing between a crap mapper and a good mapper. This FC2 mapping tool looks so user-friendly it'll probably make newb maps look professional lol. That has its ups and downs.

But hey, that editor looks very fun to use.
__________________
Intel Core Duo E7300 2.66GHz // SuperTalent DDR2 800 2GB // ASUS nVidia GeForce 8400GS 512MB // Western Digital 7200RPM 320GB SATA // LG GH-20LS 20X SATA DVD-RAM // Windows XP Pro 32-bit // Thermaltake XP550 NP 430W // Thermaltake SOPRANO SECC Black
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-26-2008, 04:21 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,349

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Check out the video demo of the map editor on farcry2.com.

Fast editors do not necessarily have to be super hard to make good maps. They just need to allow certain things.

I want a map editor that lets you move the mouths of people so you can record mini movies or have people talk on your map.

That looks sweet! The game will obviously be easy to mod. I mean it is made by crytek who made the original and that engine had SDK packs like source.
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy

Last edited by atholon; 08-26-2008 at 04:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-26-2008, 04:25 PM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,846

yea i have all of it install from the site for items to make maps and mods with love it totally.

my farcry is rated R love it lol
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-26-2008, 05:01 PM
Mstenger404 is offline Mstenger404
Registered User

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,730

Send a message via MSN to Mstenger404
ath, correction.

Far Cry 2 is completely made by Ubisoft Montreal, Crytek has zero affiliation.
__________________


Intel Q9300 Quad~2.5Ghz
PALIT GTX570
ASUS GTX280 Dedicated PhysX
WD Velociraptor 300GB 10k RPM
WD Caviar Black 1TB 7,200 RPM
4GB Patriot DDR3 1333mhz
Intel BOXDX48BT2 X48
Corsair 1000Watt Modular PSU
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
ASUS VG238H 23" 120Hz 3D-Ready
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-26-2008, 09:03 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,349

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Ohh I stand corrected. Looks like Ubi's got this one. I assumed they kept the far cry title...

So Dunia's the engine their using. Interesting.
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-26-2008, 10:52 PM
Chrispy is offline Chrispy

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peria, New Zealand
Posts: 6,770

Send a message via MSN to Chrispy Send a message via Yahoo to Chrispy
This engine sounds way better than CryEngine. Definitely lower PC requirements, heh.
__________________
Intel Core Duo E7300 2.66GHz // SuperTalent DDR2 800 2GB // ASUS nVidia GeForce 8400GS 512MB // Western Digital 7200RPM 320GB SATA // LG GH-20LS 20X SATA DVD-RAM // Windows XP Pro 32-bit // Thermaltake XP550 NP 430W // Thermaltake SOPRANO SECC Black
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-15-2008, 09:56 AM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,229

bit more on the map editor here: http://uk.gamespot.com/pc/action/far...=picks;title;3
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-15-2008, 01:00 PM
katana*GFR* is offline katana*GFR*

Join Date: May 2002
Location: North Sea
Posts: 2,421

Send a message via ICQ to katana*GFR* Send a message via MSN to katana*GFR*
aww dam no more fiddling like with DF2... My maps on this site were made with the stock editor... Took some long time to line it all up...
Now its just hit & run...
__________________
<- Sponsored by Chris



Found on Youtube:
Quote:
And if Newton Faulkner's voice can be described as "R&B" then Kurt Cobain must be a member of Boyz II Men.
Link here
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-15-2008, 01:12 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,349

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Comes out next week.
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-18-2008, 01:00 AM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,349

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Who is actually planning on getting it next week?
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-18-2008, 01:53 AM
Chrispy is offline Chrispy

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peria, New Zealand
Posts: 6,770

Send a message via MSN to Chrispy Send a message via Yahoo to Chrispy
A few of my squad mates have it pre-ordered, I believe.

It's always Chrispy that misses out on everything. Crappy computer only has an FX 5500 and 1.7ghz single core, LOL.
__________________
Intel Core Duo E7300 2.66GHz // SuperTalent DDR2 800 2GB // ASUS nVidia GeForce 8400GS 512MB // Western Digital 7200RPM 320GB SATA // LG GH-20LS 20X SATA DVD-RAM // Windows XP Pro 32-bit // Thermaltake XP550 NP 430W // Thermaltake SOPRANO SECC Black
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-18-2008, 02:45 AM
Lev-Dev is offline Lev-Dev
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1

Yeah, I've seen vids of the FC2 Map Editor, and it looks so much easier than FC:1 (PC)
__________________
I you want to request a map, PM me and I'll make any map you would like to have!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-18-2008, 08:23 AM
Mstenger404 is offline Mstenger404
Registered User

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,730

Send a message via MSN to Mstenger404
I plan on having it, but with gears of war 2 only around the corner, im not really sure about getting it for the x360. I just might only play it for PC
__________________


Intel Q9300 Quad~2.5Ghz
PALIT GTX570
ASUS GTX280 Dedicated PhysX
WD Velociraptor 300GB 10k RPM
WD Caviar Black 1TB 7,200 RPM
4GB Patriot DDR3 1333mhz
Intel BOXDX48BT2 X48
Corsair 1000Watt Modular PSU
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
ASUS VG238H 23" 120Hz 3D-Ready
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Map Editing Chrispy Delta Force 2 10-05-2005 10:19 AM
Map editing Help NoLuv Delta Force 2 03-29-2005 02:52 PM
Need help map editing Martini =^v^= Delta Force 6 06-05-2003 02:29 PM
When posting in Map Editing Lakie Delta Force 0 04-27-2003 12:50 AM
new to map editing? take a look Steve Delta Force 3 05-24-2002 02:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.




Powered by vBulletin®