Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Computers > Web design and Programming
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Web design and Programming Discuss website creation and other programming topics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2009, 04:18 PM
Acid is offline Acid

Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 853

Send a message via ICQ to Acid
Do I HAVE to use a table here?

Peace,

Do I HAVE to use a table to achieve the look on the bottom of the page in the blue section with text on one side and the image on the other?

http://audiclean.com/beta/index.html

In other words how would you do it?

PHP Code:
<table width="100%">
                  <
tr>
                    <
td width="98%"><span class="bottomblue"><font size="3" color="#FFFFFF">&#9702; 
                      
Clinically <b>proven</befficacy</font> </span> <br>
                      <
span class="bottomblue"> <font size="3" color="#FFFFFF">&#9702; 
                      
<bDoes not irritate</bthe delicate ear canal</font
                      </
span> <br>
                      <
span class="bottomblue"> <font size="3" color="#FFFFFF">&#9702; 
                      
<b>Naturally sourced ingredients</b></font> </span> <br>
                      <
span class="bottomblue"> <font size="3" color="#FFFFFF">&#9702; 
                      
<b>Easy to use</b></font> </span> <br>
                      <
span class="bottomblue"> <font size="3" color="#FFFFFF">&#9702; 
                      
<b>Safe </b>for adults and<bchildren</b></font> </span> <br>
                      </
td>
                    <
td width="1%">&nbsp;</td>
                    <
td width="1%"
                      <
div class="tv"> <a href="tvc.html"><img src="images/tv-ad.gif" width="84" height="120" border="0" alt="tv ad logo"></a
                      </
div>
                    </
td>
                  </
tr>
                </
table
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2009, 04:27 PM
Acid is offline Acid

Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 853

Send a message via ICQ to Acid
Here is the code from my style sheet

PHP Code:
.bottomblue {   
padding-right3.5em;   
padding-top0px;   
margin:5px;   
}    
html>body .bottomblue {   
padding-right3.5em;   
padding-top0px;   
margin:15px;   
}  
.
bigbluetext {   
position:relative;    
top0px;    
right5px;   
text-align:right;  
 }  
.
bigbluetextlow {   
position:relative;    
top: -10px;    
right5px;  
text-align:right;   
letter-spacing2px;  
 } 
.
bigbluetextlow2 {   
position:relative;   
top: -20px;    
right5px;   
text-align:right;   
letter-spacing2px;  
 } 
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2009, 04:48 PM
IcIshoot is offline IcIshoot

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, MI
Posts: 1,473

Send a message via AIM to IcIshoot Send a message via MSN to IcIshoot Send a message via Yahoo to IcIshoot
nope.. you can use a DIV and just position it using css.

Not sure the best way to position it though. On one of my projects I'm using absolute positioning and specifying where I want it via the x/y coordinates.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2009, 05:01 PM
Acid is offline Acid

Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 853

Send a message via ICQ to Acid
I thought so, I'm gonna try it out...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2009, 05:21 PM
Acid is offline Acid

Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 853

Send a message via ICQ to Acid
I need to define the image source in the css...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2009, 05:22 PM
Acid is offline Acid

Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 853

Send a message via ICQ to Acid
Here is the page I'm using to test this.

http://audiclean.com/beta/index-2.html
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-09-2009, 06:38 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
You can put the text in <p> tags or a div and then float the image right.

<p class="paragraphCrap">
BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH
</p>
<img src="myIMAGE.gif" class="tvImage">

.tvImage
{
float: left;
}
.paragraphCrap
{
float: right;
}
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2009, 06:39 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Quote:
Originally posted by icishoot
nope.. you can use a DIV and just position it using css.

Not sure the best way to position it though. On one of my projects I'm using absolute positioning and specifying where I want it via the x/y coordinates.
You could do absolute positioning as well.
Code:
<div id="someContainer">
<p id="paragraph">
<ol>
<li>Clinically proven efficacy</li>
<li>Does not irritate the delicate ear canal</li>
<li>Naturally sourced ingredients</li>
<li>Easy to use</li>
<li>Safe for adults and children</li>
</ol>
</p>
<a href="/beta/tvc.html"><img src="/images/tv-ad.gif" alt="TV Ad Picture" id="tvad">Click Here for the TV Ad!</a>
</div>

CSS:
#someContainer{position: relative;}
#tvad
{
  position: absolute;
  left: 201px;
}
#paragraph
{
  position: absolute;
  width:200px;
  left: 0px;
}
__________________

Last edited by atholon; 02-09-2009 at 06:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-09-2009, 06:51 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
The problem with absolute positioning and floating is that it will not expand a div or wrap the text inside the div.

You have to force the div to be a certain height.

In some cases tables are the best option. You just shouldn't use them all over the place (what a mess).
__________________

Last edited by atholon; 02-09-2009 at 06:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-09-2009, 07:11 PM
Acid is offline Acid

Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 853

Send a message via ICQ to Acid
the positioning was only for the tv ad image

And there is no text for the tv ad. Its just a picture that links to the tv ad page
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-09-2009, 07:32 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Oh Just looked at it really fast.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-09-2009, 07:44 PM
Acid is offline Acid

Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 853

Send a message via ICQ to Acid
But what I get from what you are saying is that although I could do the same thing without tables, it is ok to use them in this instance?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-09-2009, 08:06 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Yeah. Sometimes the CSS isn't worth it.

Just try to use them for the right purpose (displaying data)

If you look at my site you can see that I use them in a few places. Not all over though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-10-2009, 06:59 AM
Acid is offline Acid

Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 853

Send a message via ICQ to Acid
Thank you man.

Now I'm wondering how to deliver it using php.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-10-2009, 09:02 AM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
That is trickier
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Table EDGE Sigs and Graphics 32 06-10-2005 11:03 PM
Table Width Guest phphq.Net Forums 1 06-01-2005 03:11 PM
one for the supper table bigsmellyfart Humor & Jokes 1 04-27-2005 08:59 AM
I can´t change the with of the table Borja phphq.Net Forums 1 12-07-2004 05:27 PM
table transparency? Se7eN Web design and Programming 2 05-08-2003 02:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.




Powered by vBulletin®