Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Computers > Tech Support
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Tech Support Have a problem? Maybe we can help!

Old 07-26-2008, 11:31 PM
Elmo73 is offline Elmo73

Possible to have too fast of a connection in BHD?

I have been playing for a few years and all of a sudden I'm stumped. I consider myself to be a fairly good player but skills have been going WAY down lately and I am starting to get owned. Over the years I have gone through the motions, started out with dialup, moved to dsl, and now have cable. The game seemed so awesome when I first got cable a couple years ago, but as of late it seems to be going way in reverse. Pings are always awesome, 40-60 range (pressing k shows around 120ish), which is usually CONSIDERABLY lower than anyone else playing in the server I play. We play on a very well run and maintained dedicated server and admins swear nothing is wrong on their end.
What I see in game is somewhat like lag but not really. I'm not seeing the guys falling and shooting after they are dead, etc. I am just starting to get flat out owned by everyone, their pings are 2 to 3 times higher than mine. Here is a speedtest...

Awesome blazing speed and no one can come close to this when I have posted in forums on our squad page.
I have a newer custom built comp (about 5 months ago), Intel Quad Core Q6600, Nvidia 8800gt graphics, couple gbs ram. No problems it seems with the comp. It runs COD4 BEAUTIFULLY with no lag and I ususally have one of the better pings in any server I go in there too.
Now some have suggested maybe my vid card was going bad...doubt that seeing as COD plays great - but I did update it just to be sure. Some have suggested that i am too close to the server which is in Chicago and I'm outside of Detroit, but there are people that live even closer with cable internet that have no problems. Or maybe I'm getting too old and I'm losing my touch haha, NOT.