Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Computers > Web design and Programming
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Web design and Programming Discuss website creation and other programming topics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2005, 08:06 PM
VooDoo- is offline VooDoo-
VooDoo-'s Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,896

need some help

ok ... im doing that resizable content box thing .......

i did this yestarday following THIS tut http://www.zymic.com/view_tutorial.php?id=48 and it worked

this is my code...

<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE>Untitled-1</TITLE>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</HEAD>
<BODY BGCOLOR=#FFFFFF LEFTMARGIN=0 TOPMARGIN=0 MARGINWIDTH=0 MARGINHEIGHT=0>
<!-- ImageReady Slices (Untitled-1) -->
<TABLE WIDTH=347 BORDER=0 CELLPADDING=0 CELLSPACING=0>
<TR>
<TD height="6">
<IMG SRC="images/top_left.gif" WIDTH=5 HEIGHT=5 ALT=""></TD>
<TD background=images/top.gif>
</TD>
<TD>
<IMG SRC="images/top_right.gif" WIDTH=5 HEIGHT=5 ALT=""></TD>
</TR>
<TR>
<TD background=images/left.gif>
</TD>
<TD>blach</TD>
<TD bacnground=images/right.gif>
</TD>
</TR>
<TR>
<TD>
<IMG SRC="images/bottom_left.gif" WIDTH=5 HEIGHT=5 ALT=""></TD>
<TD background=images/bottom.gif>
</TD>
<TD>
<IMG SRC="images/bottom_right.gif" WIDTH=5 HEIGHT=5 ALT=""></TD>
</TR>
</TABLE>
<!-- End ImageReady Slices -->
</BODY>
</HTML>

and i get this

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v...0/goddamnit.jpg

also is their such a ting that checks this stuff and looks for errors for you?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2005, 11:51 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Page cannot be displayed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2005, 11:53 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Code:
<TD bacnground=images/right.gif>
That is spelled wrong.

Code:
<TD background=images/right.gif>
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2005, 08:56 AM
BlackMass is offline BlackMass
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 290

don't that suck how something as simple and easy to overlook as a single wrong letter or something like that can mess everything up?
__________________


» Visit Clan Hall Gaming «
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2005, 10:14 AM
Stu is offline Stu
Resident Member

Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3,319

Quote:
Originally posted by Visualize
don't that suck how something as simple and easy to overlook as a single wrong letter or something like that can mess everything up?
If voodoo was using Dreamweaver, it should pick out that theres something wrong there. If you havent got it, i would highly surgest it to anyone
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2005, 10:30 AM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
DW is ok but is not worth the price. The only thing I ever use it for is checking mistakes. I am sure there are other programs that will check it for you.

I have had that happen to me in my coding and I had other people look at it and no-one could find out what was wrong.
Turns out someone finally did, it was something like this:

Code:
<td background="mybackground.gif>
Missed the stinking quote and it screwed the stuff up.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-19-2005, 01:11 PM
VooDoo- is offline VooDoo-
VooDoo-'s Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,896

son of a bitch bastard.......

dude i was staring at that thing for HOURS yestarday .. how did i miss that

yea i have dreamweaver and the only thing it bitched about was like the table propertise like the height and width ... some broswers can't do that or somethng...

thanks alot atholon
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-19-2005, 01:50 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
No problem bro.
Something to remember: If you are going to use quotes "", make sure that you use it on everything or don't use em at all. I helps make it less confusing.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-19-2005, 02:34 PM
VooDoo- is offline VooDoo-
VooDoo-'s Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,896

yea dream weaver did that... =\

anywho..

what im doing is im making a VERY basic but funtional site like this one .... or trying to ..

im not sure if im doing it right ... because no one is helping me lol...but im trying to get the links and what not on the sides...and in the middle like this site.. with the news boxes....i get how to make em resizable .. but ..

lol this is hard to explain

what i did for in the middle of the page i made one BIG resizable box to put all the little resizable boxes in..if thats how you do it

so .. it works .. kinda...

but the thing i don;t get it the little "news" box ... when u slice the sides .. do u slice ALL the sides or just the left and right one...

and also if you make your sentences to BIG they overlap the boxes on the sides...so .. when you make those do u gatta put ur own <*br> tags in there or is there a way to make it automaticly go onto the next page...because you all vew sites diffrently so i would guess theres a way to make em break automaticly...

thanks for reading it and thanks in advanced for your input
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-19-2005, 02:41 PM
EDGE is offline EDGE
EDGE's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 7,184

Send a message via ICQ to EDGE Send a message via AIM to EDGE Send a message via Yahoo to EDGE
Why not just use Frontpage? I don't use it but it seems to be a good program. It comes with MS Office and is worth the price. Besides, you get like 6 programs with MS office.
__________________
Quote:
Voltaire
It is forbidden to kill; therefore all murderers are punished unless they kill in large numbers and to the sound of trumpets.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-19-2005, 02:44 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Can I see the page? The one up there would not work for me. Maybe I can help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-19-2005, 04:54 PM
VooDoo- is offline VooDoo-
VooDoo-'s Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,896

you got msn? i don't have hosting .. im doing this straight off my comp...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-19-2005, 06:24 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Yeah, I can hook you up with some free hosting too. Elite and are doing it off one of me sites.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-19-2005, 06:25 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
MSN = Sm_ck@msn.com
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-19-2005, 07:01 PM
VooDoo- is offline VooDoo-
VooDoo-'s Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,896

you pwnz0rs

added you btw
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-19-2005, 07:03 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
OK
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-19-2005, 07:08 PM
VooDoo- is offline VooDoo-
VooDoo-'s Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,896

lol might as well chat on this ..

when u gona aadd me :P

mga1190@hotmail.com
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-19-2005, 07:49 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
I am actually at work right now I can't us IM's.
I will get on MSN when I get home in 2 1/2 hours.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-19-2005, 07:51 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,927

I just call it code symptoms. It's when you start coding and miss simple things because your brain is thinking it's more complex then it really is. I used to get it a lot, and now only a little. I find moving your eyes from the computer for a hour or so will quickly cure this ongoing annoyance. And later on when the code becomes your native language above English itself you don't miss things like that so easy.
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-19-2005, 07:55 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,357

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Panther knows he has helped me MANY times eh bro? LOL
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.




Powered by vBulletin®