Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Games > Delta Force
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Delta Force Anything to do with the Delta Force series of games, DF1, DF2, LW, TFD, BHD, DFX, AF etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2014, 08:53 PM
flamerboy67664 is offline flamerboy67664
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zakara Ward, Citadel
Posts: 35

Important [MED] [SO MOD] Playing Music

How to I put music to my maps?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2014, 10:02 AM
MAJWIZ is offline MAJWIZ
MAJWIZ's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: FORT WALTON BEACH FL
Posts: 292

All music must be in wave form or the music won't play. Also most full songs run around 3-4 megs each. i use POWER SOUND EDITOR to make my sound waves. also read the comment STOMPEM posted below this one. have fun.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2014, 08:02 PM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by flamerboy67664 View Post
How to I put music to my maps?
First you may need to understand how the WAC works with sound files.

Dave61's DFX/DFX2 Website

You may use various script methods to achieve it.

The most simple way is to use the waveready command in the WAC but there are other more complex methods and there are limitations.

FORMAT: 16bit PCM Wave
CHANNELS: x1 Mono recommended
BITS PER SAMPLE: 16
FREQUENCY: 41100Hz - 8000Hz


// plays once
if waveready() and never() then
wave("yourwavefile.wav")
endif


//plays as loop
if waveready() then
loop
wave("yourwavefile.wav")
end
endif
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2014, 11:06 PM
flamerboy67664 is offline flamerboy67664
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zakara Ward, Citadel
Posts: 35

stompem please check this

WARN: THIS NEEDS SO MOD



Permissions:
You are not allowed to alter anything in the map except modifying the WAC file and if the thing you modify is important to make the music
You are allowed to play the mission

Link: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...Evacuation.rar

Last edited by flamerboy67664; 05-08-2014 at 11:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2014, 12:22 AM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by flamerboy67664 View Post
stompem please check this

WARN: THIS NEEDS SO MOD



Permissions:
You are not allowed to alter anything in the map except modifying the WAC file and if the thing you modify is important to make the music
You are allowed to play the mission

Link: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...Evacuation.rar
Basically it means the map is made for the SO Mod and you may add sounds to the mission by editing the WAC.

Also it's generally considered OK to modify maps in the process of learning how to map yourself but morally it's wrong to publish them as your own.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2014, 12:28 AM
flamerboy67664 is offline flamerboy67664
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zakara Ward, Citadel
Posts: 35

Have you found something wrong in my WAC file?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2014, 01:00 AM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by flamerboy67664 View Post
Have you found something wrong in my WAC file?
What WAC file is that?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2014, 01:28 AM
flamerboy67664 is offline flamerboy67664
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zakara Ward, Citadel
Posts: 35

Evac.WAC
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-09-2014, 01:35 AM
flamerboy67664 is offline flamerboy67664
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zakara Ward, Citadel
Posts: 35

// plays once
if elapse(1) then
text("Music: Top Gun: Hard Lock soundtrack 13")
wave("topgun13.wav")
endif

//rain
if elapse(1) then
rain(100)
overcast(70,30)
skyspeed(80)
endif

Contents of my WAC
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2014, 01:35 AM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

Here is your WAC corrected and the wave file converted in the attached ZIP file.

It was in the wrong format and too large.

All working now.

Looks like the file didn't upload. Still too large, I got it down to 2.8MB

You need to compress the sound file and make it mono.

Just wait a minute I will upload it to my server for you.


// plays once
if past(1) and waveready() and never() then
text("Music: Top Gun: Hard Lock soundtrack 13")
wave("TGHLTRACK_13.wav")
endif

//rain
if ontick() and never() then
rain(100)
overcast(70,30)
skyspeed(80)
endif
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-09-2014, 01:43 AM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

Download your sound file here...

TGHLTRACK_13.zip

Please let me know when you get it so I can clear the file.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-09-2014, 03:44 AM
flamerboy67664 is offline flamerboy67664
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zakara Ward, Citadel
Posts: 35

Done stompem, thanks for the help, all working now.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-09-2014, 05:11 AM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by flamerboy67664 View Post
// plays once
if elapse(1) then
text("Music: Top Gun: Hard Lock soundtrack 13")
wave("topgun13.wav")
endif

//rain
if elapse(1) then
rain(100)
overcast(70,30)
skyspeed(80)
endif

Contents of my WAC
// plays once
if elapse(1) then // This will repeat the wave file every 1 seconds and most likely fail
text("Music: Top Gun: Hard Lock soundtrack 13")
wave("topgun13.wav")
endif

//rain
if elapse(1) then // In this the weather will work but the WAC will be firing every 1 seconds
rain(100)
overcast(70,30)
skyspeed(80)
endif

You need to use and never() then to make it fire once.

If you want it to repeat it, the elapsed time must be of longer duration than the period of execution.

IE a 2 minute wave (=120 seconds) the recommended elapsed time would be 121 - IE:

if past() and elapse(121) and waveready() and never() then

if past() start playing immediately the player enters the game
elapse(121) wait 121 seconds
waveready() tells the engine to wait until there is no other sound playing.
never() then execute once
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.




Powered by vBulletin®