Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Games > Delta Force
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Delta Force Anything to do with the Delta Force series of games, DF1, DF2, LW, TFD, BHD, DFX, AF etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2013, 11:37 AM
MAJWIZ is offline MAJWIZ
MAJWIZ's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: FORT WALTON BEACH FL
Posts: 292

moving fire

Need to set a field on fire by shooting a barrel ect. tried to teleport fire to location and tried to hide / unhide ? I have a map that you had to shoot the barrel and the field would start on fire, but i don't remember the name of the file. help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2013, 02:54 PM
Swifty Helen is offline Swifty Helen
Swifty Helen's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 326

I saw one of stompems maps do that
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2013, 02:10 PM
MAJWIZ is offline MAJWIZ
MAJWIZ's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: FORT WALTON BEACH FL
Posts: 292

found map i was looking for. fire now moves.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2013, 05:00 PM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

Wink

This is primitive but works kinda OK. Fire doesn't burn out.

Here are some other Fires you can use besides the one in the script.

Use variables as a matter of rule.

effect_FxFire1m
effect_FxFire2m
effect_FxFire4m
effect_FxFire6m
effect_FxFireHm
effect_fxfirewd


if ssndead(267) and never() then
set(v10,1)
endif

if eq(v10,1) and never() then
fx2tgt effect_fxfire6m(1)
endif

if chain(3) and never() then
fx2tgt effect_fxfire6m(2)
endif

if chain(3) and never() then
fx2tgt effect_fxfire6m(3)
endif

and so on...

Last edited by Guest001; 08-23-2013 at 10:23 PM. Reason: Shorten post : add comment
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2013, 09:57 AM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

After understanding the the basic script above.
New designers can then modify the script further with the "random" instruction.

VARIABLES
Basically, you should choose a variable number to do a set group of tasks.
Then re-use it when needed throughout your maps.

IMO it's a way to be a bit more familiar with what's going on and stay mentally organized.

For this example I have chosen variable 10 but you can easily choose your own.

Variable 10 default state is (v10,0)

We are saying that when "eq(v10,0)" reaches "eq(v10,1)" then the set actions are triggered

The trigger is seen in "if ssndead set(v10,1)"

The actions are seen in "if eq(v10,1)"


//EXAMPLE WAC

//teleport fx to targets
//using...
//effect_FxFire1m
//effect_FxFire2m
//effect_FxFire4m
//effect_FxFire6m
//effect_FxFireHm
//effect_fxfirewd


//variable 10 object(s) destroyed

if ssndead(1) and never() then
set(v10,1)//when ssn 1 is destroyed this sets variable 10,0 to 10,1
endif


//variable 10 start random

if eq(v10,1) and never() then
fx2tgt effect_fxfire6m(1)// (1)= teleport target 1 and starts with script
endif

if chain(1) and random(3) and never() then
fx2tgt effect_fxfire6m(2)// (2)= teleport target 2 and fires approx 1-3 seconds after triggering
endif

if chain(2) and random(3) and never() then
fx2tgt effect_fxfire6m(3)// (3)= teleport target 3
endif

NOTE:
In case of a bug (I call them Gremlins) and a variable fails to trigger no matter what.

Trying a different variable number and/or triggering it in a different way sometimes works wonders.

Last edited by Guest001; 08-24-2013 at 11:20 AM. Reason: update info
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2013, 02:34 PM
MAJWIZ is offline MAJWIZ
MAJWIZ's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: FORT WALTON BEACH FL
Posts: 292

Stompem: Iv'e been a bad boy i got some of the guy here at ASUSTEK hooked on delta force extreme 2 oops.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-25-2013, 04:33 AM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 21,143

Send a message via ICQ to Hellfighter
id pop in my head

i got a id the fire following anyone come near its location (campfire) or step on its hot spot its resting, gets to close to the player it turns into wildfire 25m-50m it cover the area and moving faster to get to the character its after

a true firebug
__________________
* altnews sources [getmo & others news] not found main FNN: realrawnews.com
*Discord: Unknown77#7121
Playing now days: EA Games> swtor [star wars old republic]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-25-2013, 09:35 AM
MAJWIZ is offline MAJWIZ
MAJWIZ's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: FORT WALTON BEACH FL
Posts: 292

I have a map i've been playing with that when you walk thru a blaze you die/ take hit points.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.




Powered by vBulletin®