Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Computers > Web design and Programming
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Web design and Programming Discuss website creation and other programming topics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2007, 05:21 PM
.Simon. is offline .Simon.

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,801

html to open up multiple pages..

is there any way in html, or anything thats simple for me to write/use, to carry out this action...






In my nav bar, ive got about 7 links, and 4 of them, i want to open up multiple pages (different ones in each of the boxes, 1, 2 and 3) and i want 3 new pages for every link, not just one new page per link.

what is the simplest way of doing this? thanks in advance to anyone that can help me out.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
next person to post half naked gets banned
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2007, 05:38 PM
DevilDog#1 is offline DevilDog#1

Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7,040

Try CSS ...
__________________








Quote:
If I don't do that doesn't mean I can't - DD#1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2007, 01:11 AM
GeeFuss is offline GeeFuss
GeeFuss's Avatar
Cardiac

Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,862

uh...iframes. not sure if i understand what you want.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2007, 05:52 AM
.Simon. is offline .Simon.

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,801

yeah im planning on iframes as its one of the only things i know lol.



but for every link, i want to open up three new pages, one page in each of those boxes.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
next person to post half naked gets banned
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2007, 01:05 PM
GeeFuss is offline GeeFuss
GeeFuss's Avatar
Cardiac

Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,862

oh...............hmm.

no idea. thats prolly gunna require a different coding language. not sure if you can do that in html.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2007, 03:10 PM
.Simon. is offline .Simon.

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,801

hmm okey thanks anyway.


anybody else have any idea?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
next person to post half naked gets banned
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-2007, 03:38 PM
katana*GFR* is offline katana*GFR*

Join Date: May 2002
Location: North Sea
Posts: 2,421

Send a message via ICQ to katana*GFR* Send a message via MSN to katana*GFR*
CSS in combination with Iframes shoudl be able to do it?

Or oldstyle HTML without fancy schmanzy schmuck, make a single page for each link. Based of the index. Only the layout remains the same, just as the static links and options..
__________________
<- Sponsored by Chris



Found on Youtube:
Quote:
And if Newton Faulkner's voice can be described as "R&B" then Kurt Cobain must be a member of Boyz II Men.
Link here
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-04-2007, 04:22 PM
DevilDog#1 is offline DevilDog#1

Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7,040

Try Dojo with Ajax...
__________________








Quote:
If I don't do that doesn't mean I can't - DD#1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2007, 11:30 AM
.Simon. is offline .Simon.

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,801

Dojo and Ajax? lol
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
next person to post half naked gets banned
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2007, 11:36 AM
DevilDog#1 is offline DevilDog#1

Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7,040

LOL! Sorry
__________________








Quote:
If I don't do that doesn't mean I can't - DD#1
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-05-2007, 04:37 PM
EDGE is offline EDGE
EDGE's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 7,184

Send a message via ICQ to EDGE Send a message via AIM to EDGE Send a message via Yahoo to EDGE
Make it simple....1 page with different content boxes Just do what I did on the last website that I coded. Each page with a different set of content boxes. It requires some changes in the design of the template, but you should be fine.
__________________
Quote:
Voltaire
It is forbidden to kill; therefore all murderers are punished unless they kill in large numbers and to the sound of trumpets.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-05-2007, 06:12 PM
Capers is offline Capers
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 158

This should be quite easy to achieve with JavaScript and Iframes. I threw together this crude example for you:

PHP Code:
<head>
<
script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">
function 
pageSwitch(set){

    var 
pageSet set;

    switch(
pageSet){
        case 
"set1":
            
frames['box1'].location.href "Set1Page1.htm";
            
frames['box2'].location.href "Set1Page2.htm";
            
frames['box3'].location.href "Set1Page3.htm";
            break;
            
        case 
"set2":
        
            
frames['box1'].location.href "Set2Page1.htm";
            
frames['box2'].location.href "Set2Page2.htm";
            
frames['box3'].location.href "Set2Page3.htm";
            break;
            
        case 
"set3":
        
            
frames['box1'].location.href "Set3Page1.htm";
            
frames['box2'].location.href "Set3Page2.htm";
            
frames['box3'].location.href "Set3Page3.htm";
            break;
        
        case 
"set4":
        
            
frames['box1'].location.href "Set4Page1.htm";
            
frames['box2'].location.href "Set4Page2.htm";
            
frames['box3'].location.href "Set4Page3.htm";
            break;
            
        default:            
            
            
frames['box1'].location.href "page1.htm";
            
frames['box2'].location.href "page2.htm";
            
frames['box3'].location.href "page3.htm";
        
    }
}

</
script>
</
head>

<
body>
<
iframe src="page1.htm" name="box1" height="200" width="200"></iframe><br>
<
iframe src="page2.htm" name="box2" height="200" width="200"></iframe><br>
<
iframe src="page3.htm" name="box3" height="200" width="200"></iframe><br>
Nav links: <a href="#" onClick="pageSwitch('set1')">Page Set 1</a> | <a href="#" onClick="pageSwitch('set2')">Page Set 2</a> | <a href="#" onClick="pageSwitch('set3')">Page Set 3</a> | <a href="#" onClick="pageSwitch('set4')">Page Set 4</a>

</
body>
</
html
Let us know how you get on. Also Simon mate, you know you can always email me with problems like this, although when i do check this forum i often come straight to this section to see who i can help.
__________________

Last edited by Capers; 08-05-2007 at 06:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-07-2007, 04:30 AM
.Simon. is offline .Simon.

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,801

dammit capers.. always saving my ass =P

thanks a lot dude, i think i can see how it works =]
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
next person to post half naked gets banned
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
phAlbum -- creating multiple pages within 1 album amd599 phphq.Net Forums 4 07-09-2008 08:11 PM
Weird Issue HTML forms + WinXP accounts + Multiple Browsers Lakie Tech Support 4 12-29-2006 03:20 AM
Update on one of my pages! .DareDevil. Web design and Programming 2 07-20-2006 09:04 PM
login pages.... .Simon. Web design and Programming 11 02-15-2005 12:09 PM
Pages of funny photos TimberWolf762 Humor & Jokes 5 09-25-2003 02:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.




Powered by vBulletin®