Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Off-Topic > General Chat

General Chat Talk about anything that does not fit into other topics here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2010, 03:18 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,581

Today was a good day

Today I finally finished the last piece of my "media center" home. I bought a ATi TV Wonder CableCARD capable TV tuner a few weeks ago and the cable company finally delivered my free CableCARD this morning. Now I can watch and record premium HD content with Windows Media Center without having to pay the cable company monthly for one of those ugly cable boxes. Not only that, but I can now stream TV throughout my whole house to my two Xbox 360's and watch/record live TV without having to pay the cable company $50 a month for the privilege. Now I only have one device sitting under my TV's: The Xbox. I can watch movies, play games, watch/record premium HD TV, stream Netflix video on demand and listen to Last.fm radio. I am loving this new age of technology and integration.

__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2010, 03:29 PM
icishoot is offline icishoot

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, MI
Posts: 1,463

Send a message via AIM to icishoot Send a message via MSN to icishoot Send a message via Yahoo to icishoot
How does that work with the multiple TV's, 1 cable hook up - each tv play the same channel or can they view different channels?


Setup sounds awsome


IcI
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2010, 03:35 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,581

Haven't tried it on the second TV because I still have to setup media center on the other Xbox. However, the card I have is a M-Type card which can supposedly decode 6 channels at a time according to Wikipedia.

Quote:
A Multi-Stream CableCARD (M-Card) can decode up to six channels simultaneously.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CableCARD
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2010, 03:49 PM
GeeFuss is offline GeeFuss
GeeFuss's Avatar
Cardiac

Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,861

thats awesome. i do enjoy the new technology, just cant afford it lol...college drains my accounts.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2010, 07:26 PM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,198

are you useing a default media player or can you add further supprot for files or run xbmc or similar?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2010, 07:45 PM
skinny killer is offline skinny killer
skinny killer's Avatar
HappyGoLucky

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In your pantry
Posts: 2,975

Send a message via Yahoo to skinny killer
YAY mythbusters!!!!!!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2010, 07:55 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,581

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
are you useing a default media player or can you add further supprot for files or run xbmc or similar?
I'm just using Windows Media Center which plays anything currently on my computer (mpeg, divx, avi, wmv, wma, mp3, mp4, h.264), if that's what your asking. I'm really happy with how Media Center has just worked with everything right out of the box (Xbox streaming, divx etc).
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2010, 04:47 AM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,198

h.264 mkv files?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2010, 09:05 AM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,581

no support for mkv files but I've never come across one before.
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-2010, 12:31 PM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,198

high def. rips, that would be the main reason for me to have the same setup as you. hmm shame :/
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-11-2010, 01:54 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,581

All you would need to do is use a reg hack and install a codec pack to have support in Media Center. I've just never downloaded any TV or movies as I can stream it or rent it over my Netflix.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/15979...ia_center.html
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-11-2010, 04:57 PM
GeeFuss is offline GeeFuss
GeeFuss's Avatar
Cardiac

Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,861

you boys got a prettier mouth than a 20 dollar whore...

i hope you have seen blazing saddles.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-11-2010, 05:13 PM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,198

i think there is more to it Scott, don't think you can add a codec pack to the 360 by the looks of things, i just googled my lazy ass some info and it looks like you have to convert it from mkv to another format, which appears to involve several apps to accomplish :/
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-11-2010, 06:57 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,581

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
i think there is more to it Scott, don't think you can add a codec pack to the 360 by the looks of things, i just googled my lazy ass some info and it looks like you have to convert it from mkv to another format, which appears to involve several apps to accomplish :/
Wow, after seeing the AfterDawn tutorial I suppose your right. There are 10 different software packages you may need to play that on the 360. Maybe they will add it to the supported codecs soon if it becomes more popular. They have been pretty good so far at supporting formats... Only problem is that MKV is open source and that may conflict with MS licensing. Oh well.. here in the states downloading a movie is a big no no anyways. After seeing 3 people in my last school get sued and their internet disconnected I decided that downloading that stuff ain't worth it.. I'll stick with my trusty Netflix for movies and TV.
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-11-2010, 07:35 PM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,198

PC pretty much on all the time with this setup?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-11-2010, 08:58 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,581

Yes it would have to be to record and watch tv via the xbox or any other media center extender. My PC is pretty much silent (re:) so I've become used to just leaving it on all the time. My CPU is only 95w (Phenom II 945) and when the new Gigabyte motherboards with USB 3.0 and integrated ATi DX11 chips come out i'll buy one of those and get rid of the graphics card since I never play PC games anymore (AMD Fusion FTW). If the new boards come with Wireless-N built in i'll be in fukin heaven. I'm also looking into a SSD drive for the main OS drive so there are really no moving parts in the system except the three fans (cpu, ps and exhaust).

I want this baby to be the center of everything in my house... I love the ability to control everything from my command center
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-12-2010, 11:49 AM
SilentTrigger is offline SilentTrigger
-1PARA-

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,972

Looks sweet, I'm happy with my setup thought so I won't upgrade (just don't have the money) in a long time, a PS3 would be nice though
__________________
-1PARA-AlexKall

My photography website



Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Today Is My B-day J-Factor General Chat 9 06-03-2007 12:11 PM
Having a good day? Scott Humor & Jokes 7 03-16-2006 08:23 PM
Pantera Fans - Sad Day Today G.I.JOE*MFA* General Chat 8 12-10-2004 05:07 AM
Do some good for the DF community today! Steve News 7 08-19-2002 03:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.




Powered by vBulletin®