Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Games > Delta Force

Delta Force Anything to do with the Delta Force series of games, DF1, DF2, LW, TFD, BHD, DFX, AF etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2017, 08:29 AM
Baldo_the_Don is offline Baldo_the_Don
Baldo_the_Don's Avatar
Bearding Hard

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 220

Windows Update KB4048955 may be the MED killer

I'm uninstalling some Windows updates because my sound drivers are affected badly, but I also found NL mission editors were crashing on start.

I randomly selected an update to uninstall, but I forgot to note which one it was 'cause my 'genius' is severely limited. After the reboot, I tried to start a MED and it went fine. Attempting to figure out the designation of the MED killing update, I noticed that Windows update KB4048955 is now waiting to be installed, so I'm assuming that's the one I just uninstalled.

I'm asking lolfake or stompem or anybody that can't get the MED to start to uninstall Windows update KB4048955 and report the results.

Thanks!



Edit: So immediately after uninstalling my sound drivers to attempt reinstalling them to see if they work correctly again, I had to reboot, during which KB4048955 reinstalled itself. After, I abandoned working the sound driver and uninstalled KB4048955 again and KB4055237 as well, thinking I'll figure out how to block them after, and after rebooting, found I have no access to them at all now, and KB4504022 has no deinstall option, and the MEDs won't start again.

I'm livid.
__________________
/////////////////////- SIGNATURE STARTS -//////////////////////
The NSO Deadline Mod at NovaHQ.net:

Baldo's Mod Pack - Find out more!

Baldo's Mod Pack available from DFReload:
//////////////////////- SIGNATURE ENDS -///////////////////////

Last edited by Baldo_the_Don; 12-09-2017 at 09:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2017, 07:45 AM
stompem is online now stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

Hi Baldo, we meet again at this point. IE somehow I remember having to solve a similar problem in windows 7 and 8 although this is an unsolvable one at present.

I think it's part of the creator update but it may not be permanent.

So in the mean time the solution I've come up with is a Virtual OS running XP.

You'll need an XP or win7 - 8 disk and a virtual machine software solution.

Run the MEd from there then backup to a shared USB.








__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2017, 03:55 PM
Baldo_the_Don is offline Baldo_the_Don
Baldo_the_Don's Avatar
Bearding Hard

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 220

I hate this planet.

I'm having more or less consistent luck with this trick:
  • Right-click the desktop icon for the MED you need
  • Click "Properties"
  • On the "Link" tab, click "Advanced"
  • Activate the "Run as Admin" checkbox. If it's already activated, deactivate and reactivate it. Click "OK"
  • Click on the "Compatibility" tab
  • Activate the "Run as Admin" checkbox. If it's already activated, deactivate and reactivate it. Click "OK"
  • Right-click again on the desktop icon for the MED you need. Click "Run as Admin"
On my system (Windows 10) that's starting different MEDs in various vanilla and modded forms, more often than not. Also, apparently, starting a specific MED this way allows a simple double-click start afterwards, but mileage may vary.

If a MED fails to start, repeat the steps again.

Give it a try, buddy. Reports of success and/or failure will be highly appreciated.
__________________
/////////////////////- SIGNATURE STARTS -//////////////////////
The NSO Deadline Mod at NovaHQ.net:

Baldo's Mod Pack - Find out more!

Baldo's Mod Pack available from DFReload:
//////////////////////- SIGNATURE ENDS -///////////////////////
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2017, 05:25 PM
stompem is online now stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

I had a similar experience where it worked, then it worked only whilst the settings applet was open, then not at all.

So I tried adding legacy DLLs to the game root, d3d8.dll worked but about the time it took to have a cup of coffee and celebrate finding a fix, it was all busted again.

I suspected a problem with the compatibility settings holding, I even suspected sabotage from the system itself or the antivirus etc.

I've run every scenario I can think of...
__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2017, 08:14 PM
lolfake is offline lolfake
lolfake's Avatar
Delta Team Maps

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: LOL Not Found
Posts: 277

Hey wow,

I have to say I'm damn too lucky as after my creator update that everything is just fine. And I'LL respond to you again when I'm in my office. Good luck.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2017, 05:30 AM
stompem is online now stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

@Baldo
I'm currently investigating another possible cause.

My system has the latest Nvidia TI graphics system and drivers.

Could be...

I was running AMD GFX and drivers in the retired Windows 8.1 system.

Worth considering because I was getting various interesting responses from different directx drivers I tried yesterday.
__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-11-2017, 08:53 AM
stompem is online now stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

@lolfake

Thanks for the info it helps.

Now I know it's not just me because Baldo has the same problem (though slightly different) and you are apparently unaffected.

This indicates a temporary situation.
__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-11-2017, 09:48 AM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,583

My med opens as long as I set the compatibility to "XP". Otherwise, it crashes. I don't have a nVidia card either and I do have the latest updates.

Probably a window drawing issue with the new update.
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-11-2017, 10:30 AM
lolfake is offline lolfake
lolfake's Avatar
Delta Team Maps

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: LOL Not Found
Posts: 277

Actually I have two PC's with different Windows 10 at home I've got Windows 10 Professional at work Windows Server 2016 which is same as the Windows 10 at work its working fine but at home I discovered some issues before but I fixed them.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-11-2017, 10:31 AM
lolfake is offline lolfake
lolfake's Avatar
Delta Team Maps

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: LOL Not Found
Posts: 277

I forgot to tell you I have Nvidia Gtx 1060 just in case you need to know 'detective'.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-11-2017, 12:14 PM
stompem is online now stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

FIXED

The security system and hardware monitor have been blocking any changes, even new drivers would not hold.

MMM...

Fixed it by forcing UAC to let me give administrator permission for the drivers to go in.

Here's the script, it can be modified to work with any programs that need to get admin permission in Windows 10 when you can't do it from the desktop, modify filenames, paths and executable names as needed.

Code:
@echo off
>nul 2>&1 "%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\cacls.exe" "%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\config\system"
if '%errorlevel%' NEQ '0' (
    goto CallUAC
) else ( goto MakeStompemAdmin )
:CallUAC
    Echo Set UAC = CreateObject^("Shell.Application"^) > "%temp%\stompemdmin.vbs"
    Echo UAC.ShellExecute "%~s0", "", "", "runas", 1 >> "%temp%\stompemdmin.vbs"
    "%temp%\stompemdmin.vbs"
    exit /B
:MakeStompemAdmin
if exist "%temp%\stompemdmin.vbs" ( del "%temp%\stompemdmin.vbs"
)
    pushd "%CD%"
    CD /D "%~dp0"
if exist "%USERPROFILE%\Desktop\388.59-desktop-win10-64bit-international-whql.exe" ( goto InstallDrivers
) else ( goto Exit )
:InstallDrivers
%ComSpec% /c start "%USERPROFILE%\Desktop" 388.59-desktop-win10-64bit-international-whql.exe
:Exit
__________________

In It For The Game!

Last edited by stompem; 12-11-2017 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-11-2017, 11:34 PM
stompem is online now stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldo_the_Don View Post
but mileage may vary.
I'm now where you are (I think) - MEd startup is unreliable, sometimes starting up with the same error again.

I get it randomly or after a reboot - if it won't start during the session, then another reboot fixes it for that session, until you reboot, then it may or may not do it again.....

__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-14-2017, 08:14 PM
lolfake is offline lolfake
lolfake's Avatar
Delta Team Maps

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: LOL Not Found
Posts: 277

Sorry but you all are goners from the MED don't know why?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-15-2017, 03:42 AM
stompem is online now stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolfake View Post
Sorry but you all are goners from the MED don't know why?
Far from it.
If you read what was said, we simply worked around it.
__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-15-2017, 03:46 AM
stompem is online now stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolfake View Post
Sorry but you all are goners from the MED don't know why?
If you read a bit further into the matter, you would have seen the situation is far from declared a permanent one.

Just an unsolvable origin for now.

Thank you for your support
__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-15-2017, 08:12 AM
lolfake is offline lolfake
lolfake's Avatar
Delta Team Maps

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: LOL Not Found
Posts: 277

Quote:
Originally Posted by stompem View Post
If you read a bit further into the matter, you would have seen the situation is far from declared a permanent one.

Just an unsolvable origin for now.

Thank you for your support
Well I didn't give you any support but which Windows 10 you have?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-15-2017, 10:03 AM
stompem is online now stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolfake View Post
Well I didn't give you any support but which Windows 10 you have?

Once again thanks for your support but the case is closed for me.

If you're having problems with Windows 10 try Baldo's method...

Quote:
Right-click the desktop icon for the MED you need
Click "Properties"
On the "Link" tab, click "Advanced"
Activate the "Run as Admin" checkbox. If it's already activated, deactivate and reactivate it. Click "OK"
Click on the "Compatibility" tab
Activate the "Run as Admin" checkbox. If it's already activated, deactivate and reactivate it. Click "OK"
Right-click again on the desktop icon for the MED you need. Click "Run as Admin"
__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-17-2017, 01:39 AM
lolfake is offline lolfake
lolfake's Avatar
Delta Team Maps

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: LOL Not Found
Posts: 277

You all have Windows 10 Home or Professional?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-19-2017, 04:50 PM
Baldo_the_Don is offline Baldo_the_Don
Baldo_the_Don's Avatar
Bearding Hard

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 220

I have Windows 10 Home.

And even messing around with compatibilty settings, starting any MED is unreliable. Sometimes it takes dozens of attempts. I'm so frustrated.

Just now tested for fun: Every single MED start attempt worked on the first simple double-click. DFWIQ MED, TIOCoop MEDs (consumer and unlocked), both C4 MEDs (consumer and unlocked). No muss, no fuss.

I hate it when things don't function, but I REALLY HATE it when they start functioning again and I HAVE NO IDEA WHY!

I'm losing my mind...
__________________
/////////////////////- SIGNATURE STARTS -//////////////////////
The NSO Deadline Mod at NovaHQ.net:

Baldo's Mod Pack - Find out more!

Baldo's Mod Pack available from DFReload:
//////////////////////- SIGNATURE ENDS -///////////////////////
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-21-2017, 12:20 PM
stompem is online now stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldo_the_Don View Post
I have Windows 10 Home.

And even messing around with compatibilty settings, starting any MED is unreliable. Sometimes it takes dozens of attempts. I'm so frustrated.

Just now tested for fun: Every single MED start attempt worked on the first simple double-click. DFWIQ MED, TIOCoop MEDs (consumer and unlocked), both C4 MEDs (consumer and unlocked). No muss, no fuss.

I hate it when things don't function, but I REALLY HATE it when they start functioning again and I HAVE NO IDEA WHY!

I'm losing my mind...
I needed to fix more than my NL games and so I had to solve this as well.

NOPE not with the Creator update and Nvidia drivers.

Finally I found a solid Asus Laptop with windows 10 Pro installed it was still sitting on a shelf in the local pawn shop.

The OS was digitally installed by the pawn shop before the creator update, I managed to sneek onto the net while windows wasn't watching to activate DFX2 and all is fine.
__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.




Powered by vBulletin®