Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Computers > Web design and Programming

Web design and Programming Discuss website creation and other programming topics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2002, 09:45 AM
G.I.JOE*MFA* is offline G.I.JOE*MFA*
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 437

Send a message via ICQ to G.I.JOE*MFA* Send a message via Yahoo to G.I.JOE*MFA*
home webserver??

basically...HOW??

i want to host my own website on my computer...

fourms is really all im going to do for now since my webserver for my forums shutdown on me last night when i was uploading and editing to my liking...

any info will help out...thnx
__________________
DON'T LOOK AT MY SPELLING CAUSE IT SUCKS AND I DON'T CARE
__________________




*MaFiA*...Trust...Respect . . . Family

BF *MaFiA* - CoD *MaFiA* - DF *MaFiA* - JO *MaFiA* - RvS ¤MaFiA¤ - SW *MaFiA* - Capo Crimini
The Site



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2002, 12:34 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,583

Well... whats your computer specs? Hosing a site <b>Will</b> take most of your system resources. And you have to have a good upload speed or it will be slow as hell. (like a T3). I suppose you have cable (right?) i doubt that would work cause they usually hav built in firewalls. It would be slow, take most of your computer resources. But I bet you could get it to work.
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2002, 02:08 PM
G.I.JOE*MFA* is offline G.I.JOE*MFA*
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 437

Send a message via ICQ to G.I.JOE*MFA* Send a message via Yahoo to G.I.JOE*MFA*
800 p3
896 mges of ram
15 gig hd (unsure of speed)
tnt2 pro 16 meg graphics card
cable (unsure of speed)

although games, windows, programs, internet is all very fast...

road runner is my isp and does have firewalls...

im running windows me now and will go back to windows xp as soon as a working xp compatable stat program is released...

puter is online 24/7 and is only taken down for short times for scan disk, defrags, and reboots...5 mins at a time...lol...

im only using about 2.82 gig of hd space at the moment...so i have plenty of room to run a server just for my forums...thats all it will be used for for now...


when i update my old computer later this summer or early fall it will have dual gig+ proccessors, gig+ ddr ram, at least a 64 meg vid card and sound card (these will be top of the line at time of purchase) and at least a 60 gig HD along with the cable modem...a better system but im gonna dink around with what i have now...get my feet wet u could say

:


..::UPDATE::..
i downloaded Xitami web server for free and started it but dont know how to set it up so just 1 folder is accessed...also i use DNS2GO if this helps...i also downloaded Sambar server and now when i enter my ip in the url block it sends me to Sambar's website...i need to set it up so my ip (or my DNS2GO domain) sends surfers to my forums in my folder that is only surfers can access...understand??...lol...hope so
__________________
DON'T LOOK AT MY SPELLING CAUSE IT SUCKS AND I DON'T CARE
__________________




*MaFiA*...Trust...Respect . . . Family

BF *MaFiA* - CoD *MaFiA* - DF *MaFiA* - JO *MaFiA* - RvS ¤MaFiA¤ - SW *MaFiA* - Capo Crimini
The Site



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2002, 02:54 PM
Neo_TAW is offline Neo_TAW
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 135

Send a message via ICQ to Neo_TAW
www.apache.org
or www.apache.com
or
www.apache.net
i forget what it is
LOL
but neways they have a html host and a bunch of others too
other than that i dunno much more

Good Luck
__________________
Sgt_Neo_TAW
TAW Division
GR 1st Recon
Maps Admin
Map Maker
http://www.theartofwarfare.net/tawmaps
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2002, 02:55 PM
Neo_TAW is offline Neo_TAW
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 135

Send a message via ICQ to Neo_TAW
its www.apache.org
sorry for ne inconvienence
__________________
Sgt_Neo_TAW
TAW Division
GR 1st Recon
Maps Admin
Map Maker
http://www.theartofwarfare.net/tawmaps
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-2002, 03:04 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,583

hey neo, please reduce your sig to about 50k. right now its almost 200k and slows down the 56kers. Thanks
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2002, 03:46 PM
Neo_TAW is offline Neo_TAW
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 135

Send a message via ICQ to Neo_TAW
better?
__________________
Sgt_Neo_TAW
TAW Division
GR 1st Recon
Maps Admin
Map Maker
http://www.theartofwarfare.net/tawmaps
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2002, 05:38 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,583

Yes bro, thanks! It dosent bother me but some 56kers complain cause it takes alot longer to load the page. Like to keep you all happy
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-2002, 06:35 PM
Neo_TAW is offline Neo_TAW
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 135

Send a message via ICQ to Neo_TAW
lol
np bro
__________________
Sgt_Neo_TAW
TAW Division
GR 1st Recon
Maps Admin
Map Maker
http://www.theartofwarfare.net/tawmaps
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-14-2002, 01:35 AM
Necromancer is offline Necromancer
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 62

Send a message via ICQ to Necromancer
You know, it's very possible to host a website on your own computer, even if you have a firewall. There are a lot of firewalls out there that allow a lot of traffic, and still block hackers and viruses. I have one that is tied to my VirusScan that works awesome. So you wouldn't have to worry about intruders if you have one of those. Also, all you need to do is leave your comp connected to the 'Net in order to allow 24-hour access to your clients. No problem there if you have cable.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-14-2002, 03:29 AM
BLADE =GH= is offline BLADE =GH=
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 131

Send a message via ICQ to BLADE =GH=
GI JOE your ISP should give you a 10mb personal web site to use as you have with Email. This will be ok for a forums, that is how our site www.gloryhunters.org is done.
__________________
~ Don't walk back from the clay you might get stabbed ~
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home again bigsmellyfart Humor & Jokes 4 02-15-2009 12:01 AM
anyone home? carpe diem Feedback / Novahq.net Support 16 09-07-2007 02:52 AM
PHP+MYSQL Webserver needed Miller Web design and Programming 23 01-14-2006 12:23 AM
turning old pc into full webserver... navysea| Web design and Programming 11 09-24-2005 10:04 AM
Home Luckz Sigs and Graphics 16 08-27-2004 04:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.




Powered by vBulletin®