Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Games > Delta Force

Delta Force Anything to do with the Delta Force series of games, DF1, DF2, LW, TFD, BHD, DFX, AF etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 12-31-2017, 01:24 AM
stompem is offline stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sil View Post
Doh, that's the wrong script that's the script from df1.sdb install, I dropped the wrong one in when reuploaded, apologies.

MED Fix Test - Corrected bat
Yipes!!! I missed it too - I didn't read below the dotted lines
__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 12-31-2017, 03:45 AM
FrankyTheTank is offline FrankyTheTank
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 86

whats the problem with the med ? batch files got very restricted since 98

if its packet with a old packer it might cause the application to crash because the imports/exports are wrongfully relocated

a lot of packets/crypters done that wrong or in cost of compatibility

there some ways to solve such problems

either you have:
packer: reduze size for example
crypter: encrypts file against disassembly

both have a uncrypted or unpacked state

with other words it has to decrypt/unpack the executbale that it can run - thats the trick

now you have to work up what went wrong it can be different things but most likely the import table

you then have to build a the executable again with fixed imports for example , the packer/crypter routine can be skipped
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 12-31-2017, 05:09 AM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,583

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankyTheTank View Post
whats the problem with the med ? batch files got very restricted since 98

if its packet with a old packer it might cause the application to crash because the imports/exports are wrongfully relocated

a lot of packets/crypters done that wrong or in cost of compatibility

there some ways to solve such problems

either you have:
packer: reduze size for example
crypter: encrypts file against disassembly

both have a uncrypted or unpacked state

with other words it has to decrypt/unpack the executbale that it can run - thats the trick

now you have to work up what went wrong it can be different things but most likely the import table

you then have to build a the executable again with fixed imports for example , the packer/crypter routine can be skipped
Seems to be a window drawing related issue that a new windows update caused. For me, setting compatibility to XP works and the med draws and old school windows 7 non-aero style window. But definitely directx related. The compatibility toolkit sil posted seems to work for Nvidia cards.
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 01-01-2018, 06:22 AM
By Dj is offline By Dj
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3

Did u fix that problem ? I have same. When i trying to open MED givin MED Stopped Working please help
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 01-01-2018, 06:27 AM
By Dj is offline By Dj
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3

Please help for that problem
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 01-01-2018, 09:11 AM
LoneWolf61 is offline LoneWolf61
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 13

Angry

Well back up and running after installing win 10 again, and as far as the KB4048955 up-date dunno if that's the culprit cause it's not installed in my updates yet my med still don't work. It may have something to do with the direct x mine has direct x 12.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 01-02-2018, 12:36 PM
lolfake is offline lolfake
lolfake's Avatar
Delta Team Maps

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: LOL Not Found
Posts: 277

Just do yourself a favor you guys dual boot a windows 7!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 01-02-2018, 03:20 PM
stompem is offline stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

Get ready for another crux - wireless keyboard and mouse combo's in Win10 are also malfunctioning, this time inside the games themselves.

Once again it's not known where to begin because of so many possible causes at this stage but notably it also affects fully patched Win7 machines.

Possible Meaning?

Recent Updates may be patching Win7 machines with Win10 code again.
__________________

In It For The Game!

Last edited by stompem; 01-03-2018 at 09:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 01-02-2018, 06:16 PM
LoneWolf61 is offline LoneWolf61
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 13

Biggrin

Well all I done was put my old hard drive that had win 7 on and in my machine and now my med works along with everything else.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 01-03-2018, 03:17 AM
SpecOpsSniper is offline SpecOpsSniper
SpecOpsSniper's Avatar
Assasin

Join Date: May 2017
Location: Philippines
Posts: 326

i remember this time uhh
i deleted all junk .mis and .bms after that Med crashes
not sure if this is the solution but
i restored every file i deleted
then it works
btw im using windows 10 that time (outdated)
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 01-03-2018, 09:16 AM
stompem is offline stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoneWolf61 View Post
Well all I done was put my old hard drive that had win 7 on and in my machine and now my med works along with everything else.
The MEd also works OK for me in Windows 7 but the game spins around uncontrollably with a wireless mouse - it's like the movement calibration is set to super sensitive.

Tried a few different brands
__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 01-06-2018, 09:10 AM
LoneWolf61 is offline LoneWolf61
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 13

RollEyes

Mine done that way before the update, any info on which up up-date is causing the problem or is it an up-date? I'm still using my win 7 machine.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01-06-2018, 02:40 PM
stompem is offline stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoneWolf61 View Post
Mine done that way before the update, any info on which up up-date is causing the problem or is it an up-date? I'm still using my win 7 machine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldo_the_Don View Post
I'm uninstalling some Windows updates because my sound drivers are affected badly, but I also found NL mission editors were crashing on start.

I randomly selected an update to uninstall, but I forgot to note which one it was 'cause my 'genius' is severely limited. After the reboot, I tried to start a MED and it went fine. Attempting to figure out the designation of the MED killing update, I noticed that Windows update KB4048955 is now waiting to be installed, so I'm assuming that's the one I just uninstalled.

I'm asking lolfake or stompem or anybody that can't get the MED to start to uninstall Windows update KB4048955 and report the results.

Thanks!



Edit: So immediately after uninstalling my sound drivers to attempt reinstalling them to see if they work correctly again, I had to reboot, during which KB4048955 reinstalled itself. After, I abandoned working the sound driver and uninstalled KB4048955 again and KB4055237 as well, thinking I'll figure out how to block them after, and after rebooting, found I have no access to them at all now, and KB4504022 has no deinstall option, and the MEDs won't start again.

I'm livid.
__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 01-07-2018, 02:05 PM
stompem is offline stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

On investigation it looks like nothing is being written to the registry when applying 32bit compatibility settings.

The location in the registry is:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers
__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 01-07-2018, 05:54 PM
Baldo_the_Don is offline Baldo_the_Don
Baldo_the_Don's Avatar
Bearding Hard

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 220

Can that be edited manually?
__________________
/////////////////////- SIGNATURE STARTS -//////////////////////
The NSO Deadline Mod at NovaHQ.net:

Baldo's Mod Pack - Find out more!

Baldo's Mod Pack available from DFReload:
//////////////////////- SIGNATURE ENDS -///////////////////////
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 01-08-2018, 09:41 AM
stompem is offline stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldo_the_Don View Post
Can that be edited manually?
Could be done with the right code but I couldn't say whether it would have an actual effect, the current driver environment really counts against it succeeding in my view and so it couldn't be guaranteed to work on all affected systems in the long run.

You could copy old registry keys from another PC with Win7 or 8.

Shims are close by in the registry but are referenced and stored in several locations on the PC making it complex.

There are windows tools and c++ scripts around to call the windows components needed to create the shims but as I said they are not working either.

There are only a few shims about the place that are working to any extent and so far that's only on modified Editors.

That really doesn't solve the problem overall so the problem is what is blocking the ability of the OS to do this?

MEDP1BCK.MIS and MEDP2BCK.MIS are still not being written to the right place either.

To top that off I found MEDP1BCK.MIS in the following location...

AppData - Local - VirtualStore - Program Files (x86) - Novalogic and on to all the game folders duplicated there along with a few of the game DLLs in each.

Completely random or what?

Looks like it was captured to me.
__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01-08-2018, 10:38 AM
stompem is offline stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,838

Working today , placed MEDP1BCK.MIS to System Drive Root (Drive C) with no updates allowed yet - How strange???
The NILE Editor works and always has so far.

These seem stable without any settings applied at all and it's a bit of mystery to me seeing that I haven't updated this PC since the problem.

AF3Med
Fix Wing Editor (MiG29) (F22)
DF1Med
DF2Med
DflwMed
DfTFDMed
__________________

In It For The Game!
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 01-08-2018, 12:09 PM
FrankyTheTank is offline FrankyTheTank
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 86

i really think microsoft just want to bring their windows 10 to windows 7

the more code the deliver the more incompatibility happens
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 01-08-2018, 03:04 PM
Baldo_the_Don is offline Baldo_the_Don
Baldo_the_Don's Avatar
Bearding Hard

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 220

That VirtualStore folder is where Win10 shunts files created or changed by executables that do not have the required admin rights to access the hard drive. It's like a preemptive quarantine. The MED being forced to leave the MEDP1BCK.MIS and MEDP2BCK.MIS there shows that the MEDs are not running with admin rights for some reason. Your assessment that Win10 keeps 'forgetting' the MEDs admin rights seems correct, Stomps.

Note: I did find an old MEDP1BCK.MIS directly in the VirtualStore folder. The most recent MEDP1BCK.MIS and MEDP2BCK.MIS are on the C: drive itself, and there is no Novalogic folder at all in my VirtualStore, so Win10 is not shunting NL files on my system at all.
__________________
/////////////////////- SIGNATURE STARTS -//////////////////////
The NSO Deadline Mod at NovaHQ.net:

Baldo's Mod Pack - Find out more!

Baldo's Mod Pack available from DFReload:
//////////////////////- SIGNATURE ENDS -///////////////////////
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 01-08-2018, 07:49 PM
Sil is offline Sil
Sil's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 95

Have you tried to take ownership of the directory containing MED?

https://winaero.com/blog/how-to-take...in-windows-10/
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.




Powered by vBulletin®