Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Games > Delta Force

Delta Force Anything to do with the Delta Force series of games, DF1, DF2, LW, TFD, BHD, DFX, AF etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2013, 02:12 PM
termcool is offline termcool
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4

Delta Force 2 Extreme - server question.

Hello,

I am wondering whether it is possible to run dfx2.exe as server without having compatible video card ?

I've tried creating shortcut to dfx2.exe and then editing the shortcut to look like this:

C:\df2x\dfx2.exe /serveronly

but after running - nothing happens, no error, nothing in logs - it just doesn't run.

Then i tried:

C:\df2x\dfx2.exe /serveronly /w

/w - for windowed mode - but then it says i don't have compatible video card, therefore i can't continue.

Then i found this: http://novalogic.com/kb_article.asp?ID=435
it says that the game still require compatible 3d card, even when running with /serveonly switch - but i'm not sure if this is also in regard to dfx2 game.

So, can someone confirm whether compatible 3d video card is required, even when i want just to run the game as dedicated server ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-18-2013, 05:01 AM
stompem is offline stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,879

C:\df2x\dfx2.exe /serveronly is incorrect in 2 ways

you need to enclose the command like this "C:\dfx2\dfx2.exe" /serveonly

it is not server only /serveronly No

it is serve only with no extra letter r just one r IE.... /serveonly Yes

/serveonly

This command enables it to run on a server without a regular graphics card
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2013, 05:08 AM
stompem is offline stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,879

Here is what the game.cfg file should look like with no detection enabled by the /serveonly command.

// game.cfg
//

// GENERAL
version = 29

// DISPLAY
windowed = 0
hw3d_deviceno = 0
hw3d_name = ""
hw3d_guid = ""
video_res = 0
gamma = 1.0
terrain_polydetail = 0
terrain_texdetail = 0
object_polydetail = 0
object_texdetail = 0
display_16x9 = 0
water_quality = 1
shadow_quality = 0
particle_density = 0
antialias_mode = 0
texfilter_level = 0
fbeffects_level = 0
shader_usage_level = 0
texcompression_level = 0
lock_framerate = 1
force_vsync = 0
reduce_mouselag = 1
enable_keyboardtips = 1
enable_gameplaytips = 1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2013, 10:52 AM
termcool is offline termcool
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4

i know that it is SERVEONLY, i did typo here, on forum but i already tried /serveonly

I have also tried it that way: "C:\df2x\dfx2.exe" /serveronly

Stuff that you are saying is irrevelant since you're catching on details that doesn't have any matter.

game.cfg is already like you posted so these are _default_ settings.

Please see screnshots attached.









So the primary question remains open: Can i run DFX2 server using /serveonly switch - without having compatible 3D video card?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2013, 02:10 PM
stompem is offline stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,879

Problem is 100% your side, not the game...sry
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2013, 02:25 PM
stompem is offline stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,879

BTW what I said before has been good enough for thousands of users over the years.

You have left out a lot of info in your Q...like

OS

Compatibility Settings if any

User Configuration

Network Configuration

RAM, CPU and GPU specs

Main-board Controller Generation

Server configuration

Describing someones attempt at helping you as irrelevant isn't very nice either and doesn't help your chances very much.

There's an FAQ here on NHQ and Tutorials on the Net on how to run a server.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-21-2013, 02:17 AM
termcool is offline termcool
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4

I'm sorry but you're acting childish.

" Problem is 100% your side, not the game...sry" - prove it. 100% ?
Man, you don't even know when one doesn't need to use quotes on the shortcut when using additional command parameters and you are 100% sure about something? you can be sure about your frustration only.

" Describing someones attempt at helping you as irrelevant isn't very nice either and doesn't help your chances very much."

Read above. It is irrelevant when the question is: DOES THE GAME CAN ACT AS DEDICATED SERVER WITH /serveonly SWITCH WITHOUT HAVING COMPATIBLE VIDEO CARD - and then you start talking about quotes in shortcut without knowing the simple fact that quotes doesn't matter if path or name of the executable does not contain whitespaces? is that _relevant?

Then you pasted part of game.cfg - i understand if you would paste some modified configuration but no - what you pasted is _default_ configuration that is already there after DFX2 finishes installation. Again - is that relevant ?


and then you say:
"This command enables it to run on a server without a regular graphics card"

Please provide me a link with official response that confirms your claim, if you are not able - then you cannot be correct because facts for now are saying that it will NOT work without compatible 3D video card.

I suggest to stop messing around your ego and simply wait for official reply from NOVAHQ.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2013, 12:27 PM
stompem is offline stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,879

Sure about the 8.1 naming rules? OK then.

You are the Rep from Game Company INXG aren't you?

So may I ask why you do not know the answer to this?

I'm a fair person so I will help even after your stuff up there.

So, If you go to Thors Thunder and register (for free) they will help you as they do everyone and they manage a wide network of Nova servers and other games as well as running stats and control panels.

They are my friends...they run 2 servers for me
=TMW=ThorsThunder=TMW= TDM and =TMW=ThorsThunder=TMW= DM for free as friend and =TMW= member.

And I run [GSP]

Good luck.

Q. Problem?

A. Between chair and keyboard. Usually 100% like you said.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-21-2013, 01:29 PM
stompem is offline stompem
stompem's Avatar
Die Hard

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,879

More answers to confirm that /serveonly definitely works

http://www.novahq.net/forum/showthread.php?t=40917

And Here

http://www.dfreload.com/forum/viewthread.php?tid=1508


Quote:
Originally Posted by gamesystemrequirements.com

DFX2
SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS


CPU: Pentium 4 Minimum CPU Required

RAM: 1 GB or greater required

DX: DirectX 9.0c or greater required

OS: Windows XP, VISTA (32 & 64)

http://gamesystemrequirements.com/



Internet connection recommended

for server hosting

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2013, 02:59 PM
Swifty Helen is offline Swifty Helen
Swifty Helen's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 321

Quote:
Originally Posted by termcool View Post
I'm sorry but you're acting childish.

" Problem is 100% your side, not the game...sry" - prove it. 100% ?
Man, you don't even know when one doesn't need to use quotes on the shortcut when using additional command parameters and you are 100% sure about something? you can be sure about your frustration only.

" Describing someones attempt at helping you as irrelevant isn't very nice either and doesn't help your chances very much."

Read above. It is irrelevant when the question is: DOES THE GAME CAN ACT AS DEDICATED SERVER WITH /serveonly SWITCH WITHOUT HAVING COMPATIBLE VIDEO CARD - and then you start talking about quotes in shortcut without knowing the simple fact that quotes doesn't matter if path or name of the executable does not contain whitespaces? is that _relevant?

Then you pasted part of game.cfg - i understand if you would paste some modified configuration but no - what you pasted is _default_ configuration that is already there after DFX2 finishes installation. Again - is that relevant ?


and then you say:
"This command enables it to run on a server without a regular graphics card"

Please provide me a link with official response that confirms your claim, if you are not able - then you cannot be correct because facts for now are saying that it will NOT work without compatible 3D video card.

I suggest to stop messing around your ego and simply wait for official reply from NOVAHQ.
just because stompem put some quotes and you don't know how either? How rude you are.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-22-2013, 04:22 AM
termcool is offline termcool
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4

stompem, i am trying to help you, not the opposite way. we don't host dfx2 servers but we want to make an exception for you.
also the fact that i'm working for GSP doesn't mean i have to know absolutely everything regarding any and all games.

I've ran dfx2 on my home desktop where i have compatible 3d vid card and it worked with the /serveonly switch, then i ran the same game on remote machine without 3d card on it and it fails, on 2 differend machines without 3d vid card, then i tried on my daughter's pc where 3d vid card is present and it works.

I believe it will not work without compatible 3d vid card but if you seen someone that runs dfx2 dedicated server on machine without 3d vid card - please let me know, otherwise i'm wondering why there is no official reply from NOVAHQ, perhaps you can open customer ticket with them as you bought their product ?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-23-2013, 09:46 AM
SilentTrigger is offline SilentTrigger
-1PARA-

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,972

Sorry termcool but NOVAHQ is a community based around Novalogic games but we're not part of Novalogic

And sorry, don't have a definite answer but it looks indeed as it won't run without a GC
__________________
-1PARA-AlexKall

My photography website



Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.




Powered by vBulletin®