Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Games > Gaming Talk
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Gaming Talk Post all your game related stuff here. This includes PC, Console, Handhelds etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2016, 08:05 AM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

Slot Stomp Machine

I've made a 5 Reel Arcade Slot Machine game called Slot Stomp.

You can play it for free with no money involved.

It's a simple little game.

Start with 100 Tokens up and score up 1000 Tokens within the time-limit to play the Bonus level called Hit Stomp.



LINK
Slot Stomp




Last edited by Guest001; 12-17-2016 at 01:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2016, 11:29 AM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,921

nice!
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2016, 01:28 PM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott View Post
nice!
Thanks Scott, as you'd appreciate the code was complex for a beginner like myself and took about 12 months on and off.

It took so long because I've rebuilt the code many times.

Now there's no way to predict or to manipulate the outcome.

So the code is no good to a Casino.

Oh well... it's old fashioned fun and I've got a reasonable starting point for

other games based on random strategies.

OH and like any GMachine I've found it can get you in.

BTW it'd be nice to have a bit of feedback if someone plays it and it falls over in any way.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2016, 01:54 AM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

I know this is Delta Force and all but the community is pretty broad minded and I've been around a while making maps for it so please excuse me for mucking about with this bit of self indulgence.

So, sorry to say it but after playing it on-line myself I've found some errors in scoring and audio output.

Seems to work OK in exe run-time so there must be something wrong with the compile over to HTML5.

Short-circuiting evaluations seems to help... working on it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2016, 11:25 AM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,921

What are you using to build it?
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2016, 01:59 PM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott View Post
What are you using to build it?
I'm using the Game Maker-Studio IDE for this one.

Despite advertising ease of use, it can take a lot of code to get anything useful happening.

Quote:
Functions

When using expressions in your code, ensure you use brackets to properly control the operations. This is very important to ensure the correct behaviour of your games across all the target platforms and is essential for JavaScript platforms.

a = b == c || d; //Incorrect
a = ((b == c) || d); //Correct

Last edited by Guest001; 12-18-2016 at 02:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2016, 03:09 PM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

Scott can you see any rules being broken here?

I can't seem to debug it in design time for some reason - I have to wait for run-time errors.

Code:
// Scoring is in units of +10 or -10
// Replay option followed by level vars
{
 if (score < 10){
  str = show_question('Replay Game?')
  if (str == false){game_end()}
  if (str == true){game_restart()}
 }
 bonus.spin_level = 0
 bonus.room_level = 0
{
 if (score >= 999) && (score <= 1999) {
 bonus.spin_Level = 1
 bonus.room_Level = 1
 }
{
 if (score >= 1999) && (score <= 2999) {
 bonus.spin_Level = 1
 bonus.room_Level = 2
 }
}

Last edited by Guest001; 12-18-2016 at 03:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-18-2016, 03:42 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,921

Idk what language that is... but I can see that possibly the lines

Code:
 if (score >= 999) && (score <= 1999) {
 bonus.spin_Level = 1
 bonus.room_Level = 1

 if (score >= 1999) && (score <= 2999) {
 bonus.spin_Level = 1
 bonus.room_Level = 2
Need to be switched around. Because if it stops processing after the first score >= 999 then the score will never be processed greater than 1999..
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-20-2016, 08:54 AM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

Thanks Scott - good suggestion and it all helps.

It's a proprietary version of LUA call GML (Game Maker Language).

In keeping with your advice I've altered the score parameters but what I've done is included them in an else statement just to try and save alterations elsewhere for now.

I've also set the global vars to init before the main code block.


Code:
 bonus.spin_level = 0
 bonus.room_level = 0

 {
 if (score < 10){
  str = show_question('Replay Game?')
  if (str == false){game_end()}
  if (str == true){game_restart()}
   }
  }
 
 if (score >= 999) && (score <= 1999) {
 bonus.spin_Level = 1
 bonus.room_Level = 1
 }
else
 if (score >= 1999) && (score <= 2999) {
 bonus.spin_Level = 1
 bonus.room_Level = 2
 }

Last edited by Guest001; 12-20-2016 at 09:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-20-2016, 09:14 AM
Guest001 is offline Guest001
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,971

That was a mistake there reading what you were really saying and thanks again Scott... here's the corrected script

Code:
 bonus.spin_level = 0
 bonus.room_level = 0

 {
 if (score < 10){
  str = show_question('Replay Game?')
  if (str == false){game_end()}
  if (str == true){game_restart()}
   }
  }
 
 if (score >= 1000) && (score <= 1999) {
 bonus.spin_Level = 1
 bonus.room_Level = 1
 }
else
 if (score >= 2000) && (score <= 2999) {
 bonus.spin_Level = 1
 bonus.room_Level = 2
 }
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.




Powered by vBulletin®