Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Computers > Hardware and Software

Hardware and Software Discuss hardware, software and security related stuff

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2010, 08:14 AM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 21,048

Send a message via ICQ to Hellfighter
Tongue replace my old 5yrs old HHD

will i order a new HDD 1Tb (USD-70.00 around off to)

Western Digital 1 TB Caviar Green SATA Intellipower 64 MB Cache Bulk/OEM Desktop Hard Drive WD10EARS
Other products by Western Digital

brand new one and not use ether.

to HHD i order: http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digita...4878796&sr=1-9
================================
I ran Run: chkdsk /f /r
let it run all through the morning
===============
reason for this>

Seem my Hard drive is dieing on me

Details
Product: Windows Operating System
ID: 7
Source: Disk
Version: 5.2
Symbolic Name: IO_ERR_BAD_BLOCK
Message: The device, %1, has a bad block.

Explanation
The device has a bad block of memory, which Windows attempted to read. The data might be missing or corrupted.

User Action
If this event is logged regularly, replace the hard disk drive.


Currently there are no Microsoft Knowledge Base articles available for this specific error or event message. For information about other support options you can use to find answers online, see http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx.
seem ok, but i talk with a service tech a friend of my Scott, he said if HHD sounds like a grinder it is dieing soon! need to replace it before it die's off totall.

*this has happen like 5x now
__________________
steam friend code: 34798540
Player Name: Unknown77

discord: Unknown77#7121
Destiny 2 link:
link: https://discord.gg/wxVW2byR


fair warning: I'm not into texting or reading posting in-game play!
* so talk live or not up to you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2010, 06:03 PM
Xx_jet_xX is offline Xx_jet_xX
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: California
Posts: 733

Send a message via Yahoo to Xx_jet_xX
Good thing you caught it before it died on you. i went through a few Maxtor HDD before they sold out and they didnt last as long as they should have. I have had no trouble with Seagate since then.
__________________


WTF-Squad



Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach him how to fish, and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day. -George Carlin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2010, 03:57 AM
~MOUSE~ is offline ~MOUSE~
~MOUSE~'s Avatar

Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 669

Strange.
I have never had a HDD suffer any fatal problems.
Most of my HDD's have been Maxtor and if any problems occurred I just used Chkdsk/Scandisk either from windows or by using a boot disk.

I do re-format my HDD's every couple of years to get rid of any hidden crap taking up space.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2010, 08:05 AM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,772

I've never had a hard drive die on me either *knocks on wood* and this includes all the computers I've built at home and work which are well over a few dozen. I've only ever used Western Digital, mostly 80GB and 250GB plus 1 73 GB Raptor and 4 150GB Raptors.

I have had four portable laptop HD's die on me though. 2 Fujitsu, 1 Hitachi, and a Western Digital. Western Digital was the only one to give no hassle when the warranty was claimed so we switched all of our work portables to WD Passports. I have about 9 in service for over two years and they are still going strong.

I think some people just have bad luck with hard drives...
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2010, 10:22 AM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,351

Send a message via MSN to atholon
My laptop HDD didn't die per se but it had some major issues. It wouldn't boot into Windows Vista and kept giving me disk errors. Sent it into Asus and got it fixed, now it works fine. Good thing I was able to test it on my other computer before sending it in so they knew what to replace.
I have had good luck with Western Digital. I still have a 120 gig hdd I bought 5 years ago, until last month I was using it in my tower.
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2010, 10:54 AM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 21,048

Send a message via ICQ to Hellfighter
will got the notice the new 1Tb HHD be in my hands ether Friday or Monday
coming by UPS! don't know they make drop-off's on Saturday would be nice
__________________
steam friend code: 34798540
Player Name: Unknown77

discord: Unknown77#7121
Destiny 2 link:
link: https://discord.gg/wxVW2byR


fair warning: I'm not into texting or reading posting in-game play!
* so talk live or not up to you!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-01-2010, 02:05 PM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 21,048

Send a message via ICQ to Hellfighter
new HHD came into today, i split into two parts
250Gb and rest be windows instill into 650Gb plus into

the 250Gb part of it, i backup "My Documents" to and software/ drivers into the new area. don't like to search for things or redownload items ether.
__________________
steam friend code: 34798540
Player Name: Unknown77

discord: Unknown77#7121
Destiny 2 link:
link: https://discord.gg/wxVW2byR


fair warning: I'm not into texting or reading posting in-game play!
* so talk live or not up to you!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-01-2010, 08:39 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,772

Make sure you back up the drive to another drive. Loosing everything really does suck. I alway have two month old backups of my drives. One that I keep at home and another I keep at an offsite location.
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-01-2010, 09:19 PM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 21,048

Send a message via ICQ to Hellfighter
i need to get a adaptor power plug ide to sata
i have two for the SATA but they not close to the DVD Disc drive to connect to

there only like 2inch's apart to connect to the Hard Drive not longer to reach the 1-Hard drive to a DVD-Drive.

PSU only have two on it. MOB has 4 connection for SATA

still have the old drive to leach software and drivers off it.
__________________
steam friend code: 34798540
Player Name: Unknown77

discord: Unknown77#7121
Destiny 2 link:
link: https://discord.gg/wxVW2byR


fair warning: I'm not into texting or reading posting in-game play!
* so talk live or not up to you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
harddrive


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
name the top 10 movie you love & hated pass 5yrs Hellfighter General Chat 5 04-10-2008 08:56 AM
need help here. in need of a hhd Hellfighter Hardware and Software 3 10-06-2005 11:38 PM
OK i need help here files corrupted need to replace them Hellfighter Tech Support 6 09-24-2005 02:32 PM
Windows Vista to Replace XP BADDOG General Chat 6 08-06-2005 05:42 AM
DC++ to Replace Kazza razor1984 Hardware and Software 13 09-22-2003 03:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.




Powered by vBulletin®