Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Off-Topic > General Chat

General Chat Talk about anything that does not fit into other topics here.

View Poll Results: What resolution do you use for the Net?
800x600. 0 0%
1024x768. 10 41.67%
1280x1024. 10 41.67%
a higher resolution. 4 16.67%
Voters: 24. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:59 PM
Sal UK is offline Sal UK

Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,577

Send a message via ICQ to Sal UK
What Screen resolution do you use for the Net?

Im just interested, As 800x600 is supposed to be the norm.
I think this was more or less set because when the net first came alone, Many video cards could not go higher than 800x600.

I always use 1024x768 I was just wondering what everyone else uses?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:13 PM
General Nuisance is offline General Nuisance
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 616

Send a message via ICQ to General Nuisance
i use 1152 x 864

i like it in windows and it dont mess up the alt tab thing for games.

if your desktop res. is same as game res. sometimes it will mess it up.
__________________
The Nova-Zone


http://youraite.yourhost.yourusername.com - long urls
-looks bad
-who can remember it?
- Solution?
- Get a short Nova-Zone subdomain! Yoursite.nova-zone.com
- Now thats smart. just ask for one via pm,email or contact page on site.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:17 PM
Dr. Bullet is offline Dr. Bullet

Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,655

Send a message via ICQ to Dr. Bullet
Actually, websites simply cater to which resolution is the most used, which at first was 640x480. For about the past 5 years or so, that has moved to 800x600 as people are starting to have to upgrade their computers and (usually) getting a new, larger monitor.

Only recently has it become the majority having 1024x768. I believe right now it's around 54% run 1024x768 and 28% use 800x600.

The smart company or webdesigner will make two different sites, one for 800 and one for 1024 with an automatic script to send each resolution to it's own optimized site. Anyway, just some interesting tid bits...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:32 PM
DevilDog#1 is offline DevilDog#1

Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7,040

ahmmm most websites are still designed with 800x600 resolution in mind. Telling from experience ...
__________________








Quote:
If I don't do that doesn't mean I can't - DD#1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:36 PM
Dr. Bullet is offline Dr. Bullet

Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,655

Send a message via ICQ to Dr. Bullet
I meant majority of users using those resolutions...my bad

Yes, most do still use 800x600. I chance on a 640x480 one every once in a while...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2005, 11:01 PM
Sal UK is offline Sal UK

Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,577

Send a message via ICQ to Sal UK
I can never use anything lower than 1024x768 the net just looks like poo in lower resolutions, I cant believe you goto 640x480 that must really look bad.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2005, 11:03 PM
Dr. Bullet is offline Dr. Bullet

Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,655

Send a message via ICQ to Dr. Bullet
Believe me, it does. One thing that kills me is going into safe mode on computers. It goes straight into 640. Icons are 3 inches tall, I have to scroll FOREVER...I'm getting bald spots from pulling out my hair when I use safe mode
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2005, 11:19 PM
Trojan is offline Trojan
honest toil

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,792

Send a message via ICQ to Trojan Send a message via AIM to Trojan Send a message via Yahoo to Trojan
I use 1024x768
__________________
••• USMCPI SCCLNCCGNCMCMWTC •••

••• 26th MEUSOC 940311 93-95MySpace •••
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-14-2005, 11:26 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,349

Send a message via MSN to atholon
I was using 1280x1024 at work and it was hurting my eyes.

I used 1024 x 768 at home.

Think it would help your eyes the smaller the resolution so they don't get used to something really close?
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-15-2005, 12:13 AM
DevilDog#1 is offline DevilDog#1

Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7,040

Using:

1. 1152 x 864 on my ME
2. 1024x768 on my XP machines
3. 800x600 on my 98 machine

__________________








Quote:
If I don't do that doesn't mean I can't - DD#1
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-15-2005, 02:16 AM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,830

me DF:1-2 800x600
DF: LW-BHD/Team Sabre 1024x768

JOTR-640x480 do to it lag way to much for me "hate it"
9-24fps sucks

BF: 1942 1024x768 great.
Halo (1) CE 1024x768.
Mech-warrior3 1024x758
Rainbow six3 1024x768
NFS: High stack's 800x600 it old.
NFS: under ground (1) 1024x768
it really varies how the game is made for the times or the hardware. to me JOTR totally blows toilet paper

normal my desktop is set to 1024x768
Windows Xp Pro (OEM) SP-2
GeForce 4MX440 640x480 up to 1600-1200
1024x768 feel good for me.
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out

Last edited by Hellfighter; 04-15-2005 at 07:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-15-2005, 03:57 AM
BADDOG is offline BADDOG
resigned

Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 7,050

I always use 1024/768!!!!

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-15-2005, 06:09 AM
Lakie is offline Lakie
Administrator

Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,540

1280x1024
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-15-2005, 06:18 AM
katana*GFR* is offline katana*GFR*

Join Date: May 2002
Location: North Sea
Posts: 2,421

Send a message via ICQ to katana*GFR* Send a message via MSN to katana*GFR*
1280x1024 on my crummy 17" TFT screen, cant have more.

Bigger on my 21" CRT Monitor thats at the barracks.
__________________
<- Sponsored by Chris



Found on Youtube:
Quote:
And if Newton Faulkner's voice can be described as "R&B" then Kurt Cobain must be a member of Boyz II Men.
Link here
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-15-2005, 07:15 AM
bobsm8 is offline bobsm8
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 546

Send a message via ICQ to bobsm8
i prefer 1024x768 on my 21"

any females wanting to test it out ..please email me asap im always happy to please
__________________




Give 100% ......or Give Nothing

B.A.F
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-15-2005, 07:20 AM
SilentTrigger is offline SilentTrigger
-1PARA-

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,972

1024*768
__________________
-1PARA-AlexKall

My photography website



Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-15-2005, 08:33 AM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,200

1280x1024 default @ 19"

however i never have web pages on full screen.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-15-2005, 09:27 AM
~MOUSE~ is offline ~MOUSE~
~MOUSE~'s Avatar

Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 669

1280x1024 on my 17" TFT monitor.

1024x768 when playing BHD/JO to improve fps.

800x600 on my old 15" CRT monitor.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-15-2005, 12:42 PM
-Tigger- is offline -Tigger-
BB

Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5,331

i use 1024x768. for most things
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-15-2005, 12:49 PM
Dr. Bullet is offline Dr. Bullet

Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,655

Send a message via ICQ to Dr. Bullet
I forgot to add, I'm at 1024x768 on a 15 inch CRT.

I hope to be buying a 17 or 19 inch CRT soon though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In-game Screen Resolution TitaN-R2K Tech Support 8 08-02-2011 09:48 PM
NovaHq.net wallpaper screen savers Hellfighter General Chat 8 07-02-2005 08:24 PM
When I change my screen resolution, my monitor goes black and doesn’t return Steve Joint Operations 0 06-26-2004 06:17 PM
TFD MED screen resolution Steve Delta Force 4 07-29-2002 01:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.




Powered by vBulletin®