Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Games > Delta Force

Delta Force Anything to do with the Delta Force series of games, DF1, DF2, LW, TFD, BHD, DFX, AF etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-26-2019, 08:37 PM
cambreaKer is offline cambreaKer
cambreaKer's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: germany
Posts: 21

Is it possible to import terrains from comanche 4 to dfbhd?

The terrains from comanche 4 look pretty cool, is it possible to import those to delta force black hawk down for custom missions? I'm guessing that would be easy since both games run on the same engine
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2019, 06:58 AM
~BLÃÐE~ is offline ~BLÃÐE~
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gold Coast, Australi
Posts: 163

Send a message via ICQ to ~BLÃÐE~
Hi did them years ago, >>HERE<< is a link to them.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2019, 08:05 AM
cambreaKer is offline cambreaKer
cambreaKer's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: germany
Posts: 21

Thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2019, 08:49 AM
cambreaKer is offline cambreaKer
cambreaKer's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: germany
Posts: 21

So.. how do i install the terrains? Do i need to pack them in a pff file?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2019, 10:59 AM
Baldo_the_Don is offline Baldo_the_Don
Baldo_the_Don's Avatar
Bearding Hard

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 221

If the terrain files are in the same folder as the game .exe and you got the /d tag in the target line of the game desktop icon, it should work.

Alternatively, pack the terrains into a .pff, put that .pff in the mod folder (create the mod folder if there isn't one yet), then make sure the target line has the /d and the /mod PFFNAME and it should work.
__________________
/////////////////////- SIGNATURE STARTS -//////////////////////
The NSO Deadline Mod at NovaHQ.net:

Baldo's Mod Pack - Find out more!

Baldo's Mod Pack available from DFReload:
//////////////////////- SIGNATURE ENDS -///////////////////////
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-27-2019, 12:13 PM
cambreaKer is offline cambreaKer
cambreaKer's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: germany
Posts: 21

Oh, cool. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-27-2019, 01:57 PM
cambreaKer is offline cambreaKer
cambreaKer's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: germany
Posts: 21

So i tried using the terrains in a custom mission, when the game is loading the custom mission it crashes with an error that says "!polytrn color map not specified"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-28-2019, 06:05 AM
Baldo_the_Don is offline Baldo_the_Don
Baldo_the_Don's Avatar
Bearding Hard

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 221

Please note before I waste your time: I have little experience with adding terrains, but massive experience with using other added game files, like .cin, .end, .bin, .wac, et cetera, ad nauseum. It's possible that terrains are special problems, and everything I tell you here is probably empty conjecture. Anyway...

"!polytrn color map not specified" is the message you get when the game can't find the terrain.

If the terrain loaded into the MEd, then the MEd has the right target line tags, and the terrain is accessible, so you should confirm the target line tags for the game are correct.

If you did not actually create the custom mission then we're back to square one, so for testing purposes:

• Confirm that the terrain files are all in the same folder as the game .exe.

After looking in my own resource.pff, I can see that each terrain needs a .trn, a .cpt, a .tga, and one or more .pcx files, but not all .trn files have matching .cpt, .tga, or .pcx files. Just for kicks, I opened notepad.exe and drag/dropped a few .trn files into it. .trn files are readable this way, and I see a list of required files right there.

Uh-oh. dvd2.trn also calls for a .raw file. This is getting complicated. FUN!

• Confirm that you've added the /d to the target line of the shortcut you're starting the game with.

This'll help:

https://novahq.net/forum/showthread....098#post393098

What I didn't explain in that post is that you can also:
• Press Windows key+R to open the Run dialog.
• Click on "Search" and navigate to your game .exe, then click "Open" (I guess, my system is in german), which will bring you back to the Run dialog with the .exe path in the "Run" line.
• Click on the .exe path in the "Run" dialog, press the "End" key to move the cursor to the end, and AFTER the closing quote (or the last character if there is no closing quote), add a space, a /, then a d.
• Click "OK" to run the game with the /d tag.

And at some point in time after trying this, do consider coming back here and telling us how mangled my instructions are.
__________________
/////////////////////- SIGNATURE STARTS -//////////////////////
The NSO Deadline Mod at NovaHQ.net:

Baldo's Mod Pack - Find out more!

Baldo's Mod Pack available from DFReload:
//////////////////////- SIGNATURE ENDS -///////////////////////
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-28-2019, 07:12 AM
cambreaKer is offline cambreaKer
cambreaKer's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: germany
Posts: 21

Okay, the problem is fixed. I just had to put the mod file name without the pff extension in the target line. Now it works, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-28-2019, 12:16 PM
Baldo_the_Don is offline Baldo_the_Don
Baldo_the_Don's Avatar
Bearding Hard

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 221

I remember specifically thinking I should mention not adding the .pff extension to the target line edit, and I don't know why I didn't, except I'm a fifty-year-old headbanger and sometimes that happens.

It's almost always something simple with this game, though, isn't it?

Have fun!
__________________
/////////////////////- SIGNATURE STARTS -//////////////////////
The NSO Deadline Mod at NovaHQ.net:

Baldo's Mod Pack - Find out more!

Baldo's Mod Pack available from DFReload:
//////////////////////- SIGNATURE ENDS -///////////////////////
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.




Powered by vBulletin®