Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Games > Joint Operations

Joint Operations Anything about the Joint Operations series of games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2004, 01:29 PM
§hârþ is offline §hârþ
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9

Send a message via ICQ to §hârþ Send a message via AIM to §hârþ Send a message via Yahoo to §hârþ
Cry Low fram rates

i need some help with my vid card. its a ti4200 i have the latest driver but im only geting around 30frps in the game and it also is very jerky when i join and then from time to time threw out the game i will get jerky for about 10-15 sec at a time but only a few times in a map.... please help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2004, 01:45 PM
D STROYER is offline D STROYER
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 735

i had that too, all i did was reinstall the demo, then change resolution, didnt help, then changed resolution back to what it was at, fine...strange
__________________

___________________

___________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2004, 01:45 PM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,288

what's your CPU speed?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2004, 04:06 PM
§hârþ is offline §hârþ
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9

Send a message via ICQ to §hârþ Send a message via AIM to §hârþ Send a message via Yahoo to §hârþ
AMD 2700 XP, 512ddr 2700, 128meg GeForce 4
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2004, 04:31 PM
Submit=DFL= is offline Submit=DFL=
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 21

Send a message via ICQ to Submit=DFL=
What resolution?
What other video card drivers have you tried?
Have you updated your chipset drivers lately?
When you updated your video drivers, did you check to see if some settings changed...ie 8XAGP?
Most importantly, did you uninstall your old drivers before reinstalling the new ones?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2004, 05:08 PM
Nev is offline Nev
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 311

Send a message via ICQ to Nev
i'm pretty sure the jerkiness you speak of happens because the game is loading additional stuff. so i recommend that you turn around a few times after loading the map. this will be quite jerky, but after that it should run quite smooth.

(i run the game on a XP2600, but with a FX5900-128)

edit: about "only 30 fps" - i would consider a ti4200 the absolute minimum for anyone who thinks of himself as a gamer. anything below that is not fit for today's games. i don't know what resolution you're running JO, but i think 30fps are pretty good with a ti4200
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2004, 05:20 PM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,288

how are you measuring your fps?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2004, 06:16 PM
§hârþ is offline §hârþ
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9

Send a message via ICQ to §hârþ Send a message via AIM to §hârþ Send a message via Yahoo to §hârþ
What resolution? was at 1024x768 just tried 800x600 little better but got a few sys dumps
What other video card drivers have you tried? i have only tried the latest where can i find others
Have you updated your chipset drivers lately? last night
When you updated your video drivers, did you check to see if some settings changed...ie 8XAGP? always been 8x agp idid not unistall older drivers ??????


nev.... my wife is usen the 5200 with same problems

stevie fraps is what i use to measure.....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2004, 06:36 PM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,288

rgr that, i'll test it out (4200 64MB here).


i recommend testing your system using 3dmark 2001 > http://www.dfhq.net/forum/showthread...threadid=15197

usign the online results comparison you can easily see if something is wrong with your system.

give if a shot
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2004, 08:24 PM
§hârþ is offline §hârþ
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9

Send a message via ICQ to §hârþ Send a message via AIM to §hârþ Send a message via Yahoo to §hârþ
hey stevie this is the compare link hope it works i scored a 9002 but i see a little diffrence u have directx 9.0 pn has 8.1 or soomething and when i check my system it shows 9.0 but 3dmark says 8.0 do i need to delet direct x all together and reinstall 9.0???

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5604510
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-19-2004, 08:41 PM
Cody 7 is offline Cody 7
Cody 7's Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 891

Send a message via ICQ to Cody 7 Send a message via AIM to Cody 7
Re: Low fram rates

Quote:
Originally posted by §hârþ
i need some help with my vid card. its a ti4200 i have the latest driver but im only geting around 30frps in the game and it also is very jerky when i join and then from time to time threw out the game i will get jerky for about 10-15 sec at a time but only a few times in a map.... please help
LOL i would be lucky to get 30fps. With my nVidia GeForce 2, (32mb) I get 18-20fps (used fraps) but i am thinking about getting a Radeon 9800

***I downloaded the Omega drivers for my video card, they help a tiny bit***

Here are my system specs:

P4 1.6GHz
512 mb RAM
32 mb video card

I'll look at that test you guys mentionted, i'm sure my video card is what's slowing me down

-Cody 7
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-20-2004, 11:13 AM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,288

Quote:
Originally posted by §hârþ
hey stevie this is the compare link hope it works i scored a 9002 but i see a little diffrence u have directx 9.0 pn has 8.1 or soomething and when i check my system it shows 9.0 but 3dmark says 8.0 do i need to delet direct x all together and reinstall 9.0???

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5604510
that's Panther's compair link
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-20-2004, 01:11 PM
§hârþ is offline §hârþ
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9

Send a message via ICQ to §hârþ Send a message via AIM to §hârþ Send a message via Yahoo to §hârþ
^@$%&($%&(#$@#$^%$&
ok lets try that one then lmao


http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7768157
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-20-2004, 01:51 PM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,288

seems about right, what you need to do is use the dynamic compaire. then choose to compare against a system exaclty the same as yours. then you will be able to see if your system is running slower then someone with the same kit as you.

but a faster processor will help you out
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-20-2004, 05:29 PM
§hârþ is offline §hârþ
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9

Send a message via ICQ to §hârþ Send a message via AIM to §hârþ Send a message via Yahoo to §hârþ
kool thx stevie for all ur help and everyone elses
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-13-2004, 11:11 AM
-=Stu=- is offline -=Stu=-
Registered User

Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3

Hi. I'm also having problems with low and inconsistent framerates in JO. Even on 30-50 player games it can be quite bad but I don't have any problems in any other games.

I ran 3dmark 2001 and got a score of 12045
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7828564

And 3dmark 2003 with a score of 5908

I'm not sure if its something in the demo or JO that doesn't like my system but on some occassions its barely playable. Unfortunately I cannot dynamic compare the 3dmark results becuase supposedly there aren't any to compare with

Hopefully the final game doesn't produce the same problems.

Stuart.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-14-2004, 09:23 AM
~MOUSE~ is offline ~MOUSE~
~MOUSE~'s Avatar

Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 669

squeek !

LoL.
In JO you can have 4-5 helicopters flying around shooting, armoured vehicles, boats, people spraying away on emplaced weapon's and up to 120 people in a game.

I would be very surprised if you did not get low frame rates every now and then.

It is not just your vid card,CPU and ram which affect performance.
ISP connection, Virtual Memory settings, hard drive performance and the number of programs running in the background will also affect performance.

The performance might also be affected by FRAPS. I had an old version which slowed JO down. Needed v2 to get it ruining OK.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-14-2004, 10:30 AM
-=Stu=- is offline -=Stu=-
Registered User

Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3

Hi. That's a fair point, but taking that into account I'm still disappointed that the frame-rate is so inconsistent and overall quite low. The choice of settings for video in the game don't appear to help much either. I'm running Dual 2.4 P4 Xeons, 1GB RD-RAM, Raid 1 Arrays with Ultra 320 SCSI HDs, FX5950U-GT card. Only 28 processes run on the system when I'm playing games (+1 process for the game ) using a 2MB ADSL line with 20-50 ping in most games. Every other game I've got in fine, its really just JO that’s causing problems. Hopefully the carry out more optimisations on the game before final release to try and improve performance.

What was concerning me originally is quite a number of people said the game was smooth and they had no frame-rate issues. I haven't actually tested JO with FRAPS yet, I'm mainly going on playability during the game. But I might actually test it to see what the frame rate values are.

Thanks,
Stuart.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-19-2004, 04:03 PM
Belm0nt is offline Belm0nt
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 10

i have a similar 3d mark and i get pure smoothness on the most wombat-frenzied 100 player server, on medium settings at 1024x768. Might be some dual processor thing? I've seen strange problems on highly optimised audio/video workstations using dual processors that ultimately could only be solved by using 1 processor, even with software supposedly written with dual cpu use in mind.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-19-2004, 04:19 PM
-=Stu=- is offline -=Stu=-
Registered User

Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3

Hi. Oh well, I'll see what happens when the game is finally released, thanks for the info.

Stuart.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fram rate wilson4413 Joint Operations 5 04-18-2005 01:11 PM
Map rates??? EL_Bastardo UFP General Chat 22 07-22-2003 09:25 PM
Blink Rates for Tunnels IceQueen~RGR Delta Force 4 02-26-2003 07:31 PM
LAG & FRAME RATES ECT chunx2 Delta Force 4 06-27-2002 09:13 AM
Ping Rates Steve Delta Force 7 02-22-2002 11:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.




Powered by vBulletin®