Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Off-Topic > General Chat

General Chat Talk about anything that does not fit into other topics here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2012, 10:14 AM
SilentTrigger is offline SilentTrigger
-1PARA-

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,972

Internet speed

Just today saw that my ISP is rolling out unmetered Gigabit fiber connections now, will cost around $140 a month (100 mbit up )

This also means they have lovered the price of unmetered 100/100 to a low $70 a month, AWSOME!
__________________
-1PARA-AlexKall

My photography website



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2012, 11:13 AM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,208

damn swedish pirates


/edit, keep typing out a message but the forum keeps deleting data after GBP sign!! pffft
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2012, 11:26 AM
SilentTrigger is offline SilentTrigger
-1PARA-

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,972

Yep have the same problem with swedish chars, well actually pretty much every char besides the very basic

And I'm pretty sure the piracy does have something to do with it But shhhhh!
__________________
-1PARA-AlexKall

My photography website



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2012, 01:06 PM
SilentTrigger is offline SilentTrigger
-1PARA-

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,972

Was supprised to see the router I'm using is still for sale, it's more then 7 years old!

It's the Linksys (CISCO) WRT54GL, old but reliable like no other!

Just restarted mine because of some setting changes, but besides that it's been running for several years without a single reboot

Thats something that in my expereince a Netgear and D-Link only manage a week if you're lucky, then you'll have to restart it or even reset it!
__________________
-1PARA-AlexKall

My photography website



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2012, 01:30 PM
SilentTrigger is offline SilentTrigger
-1PARA-

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,972

I have 10/10, little supprised about upload speed on this test



EDIT Slightly better!

__________________
-1PARA-AlexKall

My photography website




Last edited by SilentTrigger; 02-12-2012 at 01:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2012, 12:14 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,349

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Hehe! And here we think 30 Megs is good.

A lot of companies here run off of T1's or 12meg DSL still.
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2012, 09:56 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,594

Here is my test from this evening. I pay about $89/mo for this from Comcast. It's pretty quick..

__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2012, 01:06 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,349

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Holy crap batman!

Must make that cold weather up there worth it.



We should have 30 megs up also... grrr.
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2012, 01:11 PM
SilentTrigger is offline SilentTrigger
-1PARA-

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,972

What plan are you on Scott?

Yeah Ath, my coworkers buddy is on the 1 Gb/s plan and he tested it at 999 mbit down and 100 up. Would be seriously sweet to have that plan but it's a bit steep in price heh
__________________
-1PARA-AlexKall

My photography website



Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-14-2012, 06:18 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,594

I honestly don't know.. they keep bumping up the speed. It's supposed to be 25/10mb or something. I've never really found anythingthat can utilize all the speed anyways so it really does not matter to me. I was fine with 10/5mb when I had that.
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-14-2012, 07:24 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,349

Send a message via MSN to atholon
The thing is you're not going to see much performance boost on most downloads. Unless the server you are downloading from is on like a Tier 1 ISP or has some awesome way of load balancing, you pretty much max out at 2.x MB/s.

It would matter more if you are hosting some sort of server that needs the upload throughput or you are a client consuming a ridiculous amount of bandwidth from different servers at a time.

I don't personally notice a difference from 15 at home to 30 at work.
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-14-2012, 09:12 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,594

That's what I'm saying.. I've never really downloaded from a server fast enough to use even 1/2 of my connection speed. I've used a good portion of my upload when it was at 10m but 25m is a lot to use. I host a server which is pretty active during the day, play xbox and download programs etc all while the wife streams netflix almost all day. We never have connection issues... I didn't even notice that they upgraded until I ran that last test

I don't plan on upgrading anytime soon.. In fact if I could pay less i'd probably downgrade.
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-15-2012, 02:23 AM
SilentTrigger is offline SilentTrigger
-1PARA-

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,972

I did utilize the 100 download speed when i used i so i would see a reason to upgrade again :-)
__________________
-1PARA-AlexKall

My photography website



Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-15-2012, 03:08 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,349

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Pirate
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-15-2012, 06:04 PM
dave61 is offline dave61
dave61's Avatar
I.C.U.

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Here & There
Posts: 2,155

Send a message via Yahoo to dave61
You guys must be on fiber optics .. my Comcast speeds can't even touch that ...

My download is 21.77 MBPS, upload is 3.76 Mbps & my ping is 20 ms.

Lol, and I thought my connection was fast.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-16-2012, 12:23 AM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,349

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Wonder what Comcast limits you to for monthly bandwidth usage. Would be interesting to see.

I bet you are near to your ISP's trunk.
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-16-2012, 07:56 AM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,594

I hear it's 250gb for residential users.. Not sure about business class but I know i've used well over 250gb for more than a few months in a row.
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-16-2012, 03:49 PM
dave61 is offline dave61
dave61's Avatar
I.C.U.

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Here & There
Posts: 2,155

Send a message via Yahoo to dave61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott View Post
I hear it's 250gb for residential users.. Not sure about business class but I know i've used well over 250gb for more than a few months in a row.
You are right ...

Residential users have a a 250gb limit per month.

"If you exceed 250 GB again within six months of the first contact ( about your comcast usage ), your service will be subject to termination and you will not be eligible for either residential or commercial Internet service for twelve months."

http://customer.comcast.com/help-and...et/data-usage/
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-16-2012, 11:49 PM
SilentTrigger is offline SilentTrigger
-1PARA-

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,972

pirate? no but a linux junky, most distros are avalible throug torrents, as are many demos for games and so on. torrents is a great delivery system for legal software aswell
__________________
-1PARA-AlexKall

My photography website



Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-19-2012, 11:58 PM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,349

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Yeah. Just got done studying the performance difference. Kind of cool how a torrent P2P system works.

Isn't that pirate something website hosted from Sweeden though?
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 AM.




Powered by vBulletin®