Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Computers > Web design and Programming

Web design and Programming Discuss website creation and other programming topics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2004, 08:00 AM
DogSoldier~MLK~ is offline DogSoldier~MLK~
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 400

Adding Content To Content Box

Right I have fixed the problem i had with the 1 px border appearing around the links....now i am having trouble trying to add text to the content box....everytime i try to add text it just screws the template up...someone plz tell me what i have to do

THX
=|[HK]|=
__________________

________________________________________________


__________________________________________________ _______

AMD Athlon 64 3000+
ASUS AMD 939 SKT K8S-MX
Windows XP SP2
2 x 512MB DDR400 PC3200
Ati Radeon HD 2400 XT 256MB
200GB Hard Drive
160GB Hard Drive
Akuma Case Silver
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2004, 09:31 AM
Cujo>DK< is offline Cujo>DK<
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 67

Send a message via Yahoo to Cujo>DK<
If you're doing this with html and frames, what you'll have to do is create an html file with everything that you want to show up in the content area. and then put the name of the file that you created into your frame structure html.

It would look like this.

<frame name="name" src="name.html" scrolling="auto">

Replace name with the frame name you're using, and the .html file you're using.

Hope this helps
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2004, 12:31 PM
RagingFire is offline RagingFire
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 14

Are you using straight HTML pr PHP Nuke?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2004, 08:53 AM
DogSoldier~MLK~ is offline DogSoldier~MLK~
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 400

i am using straight HTML
__________________

________________________________________________


__________________________________________________ _______

AMD Athlon 64 3000+
ASUS AMD 939 SKT K8S-MX
Windows XP SP2
2 x 512MB DDR400 PC3200
Ati Radeon HD 2400 XT 256MB
200GB Hard Drive
160GB Hard Drive
Akuma Case Silver
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2004, 06:39 PM
the þrox™ is offline the þrox™
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3,739

Send a message via ICQ to the þrox™ Send a message via AIM to the þrox™
add i frames bro, then make the iframe the same size as the sliced section, then make the background of that iframe the same as the picture you just covered and there you go.
__________________



----------------------------------------
[Presents: ++]

Sigs Made: [29]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2004, 08:05 AM
SilentTrigger is offline SilentTrigger
-1PARA-

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,972

Content box, means what?
__________________
-1PARA-AlexKall

My photography website



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2004, 08:31 AM
DogSoldier~MLK~ is offline DogSoldier~MLK~
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 400

ok convict thx m8

@ Silent Trigger a Content Box is a Box on a site with content in it
__________________

________________________________________________


__________________________________________________ _______

AMD Athlon 64 3000+
ASUS AMD 939 SKT K8S-MX
Windows XP SP2
2 x 512MB DDR400 PC3200
Ati Radeon HD 2400 XT 256MB
200GB Hard Drive
160GB Hard Drive
Akuma Case Silver
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2004, 02:46 PM
SilentTrigger is offline SilentTrigger
-1PARA-

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,972

eh? like an iframe you mean? Those things are evil! All frame like things are evil!!!!!!!

Oh thats what C siad, well he didnt say they ware all evil, evil i tell you!!!! They will kill us all!!!!!!!
__________________
-1PARA-AlexKall

My photography website



Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-09-2004, 04:53 AM
Cujo>DK< is offline Cujo>DK<
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 67

Send a message via Yahoo to Cujo>DK<
Hey my site doesn't look too bad with frames.

Took me a while to get it right but it's working fine now.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-09-2004, 06:07 AM
Lakie is offline Lakie

Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,540

i think hes refering to a content box as a design feature, a box shape with text inside it, like the 'box' where the news is displayedon the home page here at nhq...

But Yes frames,iframes and similar are evil and should be banished. To Quote my former IT teacher said
"havent i tought you anything? dont use those, use includes people!"

And its probably a good idea to post a link to the problem...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-09-2004, 06:57 AM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: 2077
Posts: 21,539

Send a message via ICQ to Steve
i've nothing against ifames
i hate regular frames
but not as much as flash :grr:
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-11-2004, 10:08 AM
G.I.JOE*MFA* is offline G.I.JOE*MFA*
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 437

Send a message via ICQ to G.I.JOE*MFA* Send a message via Yahoo to G.I.JOE*MFA*
Quote:
Originally posted by SilentTrigger*MFA*
eh? like an iframe you mean? Those things are evil! All frame like things are evil!!!!!!!

Oh thats what C siad, well he didnt say they ware all evil, evil i tell you!!!! They will kill us all!!!!!!!
our shoutbox is in an iframe...lol

i dont like it though...but its there...

hopefully i can get rid of the iframe with the new site design
__________________
DON'T LOOK AT MY SPELLING CAUSE IT SUCKS AND I DON'T CARE
__________________




*MaFiA*...Trust...Respect . . . Family

BF *MaFiA* - CoD *MaFiA* - DF *MaFiA* - JO *MaFiA* - RvS ¤MaFiA¤ - SW *MaFiA* - Capo Crimini
The Site



Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-15-2004, 07:34 AM
SilentTrigger is offline SilentTrigger
-1PARA-

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,972

We should remove it and limit the ammount of shown messages, in that way getting rid of the iframe (i feel bad for telling what to do when i dont do anything my self )
__________________
-1PARA-AlexKall

My photography website



Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-15-2004, 02:57 PM
BlackMass is offline BlackMass
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 290

I think iFrames are ok if used sparingly and properly.
__________________


» Visit Clan Hall Gaming «
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
listen to this! [VERY MATURE CONTENT] .ex. Humor & Jokes 5 07-23-2005 11:25 AM
those neafty content boxes the þrox™ Web design and Programming 13 02-13-2005 03:32 PM
Slicing content boxes spinal Web design and Programming 1 10-09-2004 06:29 PM
DFLWMS New Content Scott News 0 12-17-2002 02:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.




Powered by vBulletin®