Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Computers > Hardware and Software

Hardware and Software Discuss hardware, software and security related stuff

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2005, 07:30 PM
SwiftSniper232 is offline SwiftSniper232
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 213

Send a message via AIM to SwiftSniper232
Confused Psu

I just got to gigs of ram... Do i need more than a 290w PSU?
I have a 9800 128m radeon and pentium 4 2.8 Ghz
__________________
-A marine was once asked "What do you feel when you shoot a terrorist?" He responded after a momentary shrug..."Recoil"
E6850 @ Stock/ 3 GB DDR2 800 Crosshair/1x 150 GB Raptor/1x 250 GB Seagate/8800GTS 640
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:12 AM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: 2077
Posts: 21,554

Send a message via ICQ to Steve
probably.
if the pc is working then there is no probs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2005, 11:00 AM
SwiftSniper232 is offline SwiftSniper232
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 213

Send a message via AIM to SwiftSniper232
ok...Thx for all the advice
__________________
-A marine was once asked "What do you feel when you shoot a terrorist?" He responded after a momentary shrug..."Recoil"
E6850 @ Stock/ 3 GB DDR2 800 Crosshair/1x 150 GB Raptor/1x 250 GB Seagate/8800GTS 640
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:46 PM
EL_BASTARDO is offline EL_BASTARDO

Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 556

If you search some of the tech forums or modding forums they list what component takes approximately what current so you can work it out form there.......

Current (Amps) x voltage = Power (watts)
__________________
Friction site
My Gallery
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2005, 12:05 AM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,355

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Yeah it will usually say in the specs.

I don't think 270 is too shabby...any lower and yah...I'd get a bigger PS.

350 - 400 is more the standard now.
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-27-2005, 01:32 AM
VooDoo- is offline VooDoo-
VooDoo-'s Avatar
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,896

don't go cheap on the power supply ... get at least 350-400 like athlon said and i suggest Antec
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:30 AM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 21,134

Send a message via ICQ to Hellfighter
i am running 450wat power supply, i had 300 or was it 350wat power supply any way system runs better with the 450wat power supply now.
__________________
* altnews sources [getmo & others news] not found main FNN: realrawnews.com
*Discord: Unknown77#7121
Playing now days: EA Games> swtor [star wars old republic]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-27-2005, 07:18 AM
atholon is offline atholon
"ath-hole"

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Failville.
Posts: 11,355

Send a message via MSN to atholon
Do not get a BestTec, they are POS power supplies....I repeat, do not get BestTec! Antec good, BestTec bad.
__________________

My site: http://www.codeprotocol.com
"Bro, you are so full of win, if I slashed you with a kitchen knife, you'd be bleeding awesomeness." - Chrispy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2005, 05:43 PM
EL_BASTARDO is offline EL_BASTARDO

Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 556

also the ratings given need to be taken with a pinch of salt sometimes, as some manufaturers use the RMS (Root mean square) value and other the true power rating
__________________
Friction site
My Gallery
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dang my PSU burnt out Hellfighter Hardware and Software 11 09-16-2008 06:09 PM
Failing PSU katana*GFR* Tech Support 6 11-18-2007 02:49 AM
PSU and X800GTO SwiftSniper232 Hardware and Software 8 03-21-2006 08:02 PM
well hello all (psu issue) SwiftSniper232 Tech Support 2 03-20-2006 07:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.




Powered by vBulletin®