Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Computers > Tech Support

Tech Support Have a problem? Maybe we can help!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2013, 06:41 AM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,839

Sad networking printer

here the thing i don't know how to get my network to see all the home network items (device connected to router)

1.) computer Xp pro SP3 32bit
with its own printer
* connect thou LAN to router

2.) Computer Windows 7 perm 32bit SP1
with its own printer
connects wireless to router

3.) router; Cisco linksysem E1200 300 monitor
Security; WPA2
log-in key 250+ combo letters and numbers beside others mix in

is there a way i can set it manually or use a software to get the home network work with all of these in a home group?

as it stand all turn-on and none see each other at all, other then the router it self?
=========
network magic is a network tool to use to make this happen, but its no longer use by newer router, so that option is dead to use
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out

Last edited by Hellfighter; 09-01-2013 at 06:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2013, 06:55 AM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,839

btw i would like the Windows 7 share the printer with the other on the home network mainly, catch none see each other then the router it's self
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2013, 07:25 AM
dave61 is offline dave61
dave61's Avatar
I.C.U.

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Here & There
Posts: 2,155

Send a message via Yahoo to dave61
For each computer you'll have to turn on network discovery. Set your network to private and turn on sharing.
After setting this, you should see everything in your network (ie. playstation, printers ,cell phones, etc ....) on your computer because they will be asking for file sharing permission.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2013, 07:30 AM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,839

ok i look into that soon

btw i think i had that cover for, but seem i found maybe my firewall had it listed as public and not trusted. i change that now, have to test it now
==========
for know this is what i see on my screen on both system




as you can see windows xp not shown
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2013, 08:08 AM
dave61 is offline dave61
dave61's Avatar
I.C.U.

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Here & There
Posts: 2,155

Send a message via Yahoo to dave61
This is what my network looks like. The network shows all the devices connected (wirelessly) to my router.

On my network map you can see my settings (dicovery on & set to sharing). The second unidentified network (public) is my cell phone (lol, I got bad reception at the time down in my basement on my cell phone).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg My Network.jpg (34.3 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg My network map.jpg (47.7 KB, 4 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2013, 08:27 AM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,839

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave61 View Post
This is what my network looks like. The network shows all the devices connected (wirelessly) to my router.

On my network map you can see my settings (dicovery on & set to sharing). The second unidentified network (public) is my cell phone (lol, I got bad reception at the time down in my basement on my cell phone).
ok i copy the way you have items disable and made my as so

i have to take off soon, but i retest it later on when i get the other system up running

thanks dav
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-01-2013, 08:41 PM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,839

ok back i think i have windows 7 is all set now, i have to get windows xp pro set on network

no id what or the setting for it to be link to network
i try the auto set option for home/ office network setting for it, but its unseen not showing up
============
ok windows xp is a bit old school i guess

did a bit of google search found this>
source: http://www.devhardware.com/forums/ne...me-128501.html
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out

Last edited by Hellfighter; 09-01-2013 at 09:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2013, 11:39 PM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,839

[update]
*** now got both system on the network working together

i can print from ether system now on ether printer, if one printer stop working some reason can use the other. tested both printer work great

like to get my (HDD) External Drive 1 (F) added to the network i be set on so my windows Xp can use it off the windows 7

[update]
F-Drive shown in network under my computer name, but windows xp pro can't get into it to use roadblock there access block

my mind is fry at this time, hope other may know a trick to make it work

F-drive in windows 7 USB-External Drive F:


click-on thumbnail to enlarge it above
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out

Last edited by Hellfighter; 09-02-2013 at 04:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-2013, 11:06 AM
dave61 is offline dave61
dave61's Avatar
I.C.U.

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Here & There
Posts: 2,155

Send a message via Yahoo to dave61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellfighter View Post
[update]
*** now got both system on the network working together

i can print from ether system now on ether printer, if one printer stop working some reason can use the other. tested both printer work great

like to get my (HDD) External Drive 1 (F) added to the network i be set on so my windows Xp can use it off the windows 7

[update]
F-Drive shown in network under my computer name, but windows xp pro can't get into it to use roadblock there access block

my mind is fry at this time, hope other may know a trick to make it work

F-drive in windows 7 USB-External Drive F:


click-on thumbnail to enlarge it above
I was reading somewhere that XP can't be accessed by windows Vista and above. Seems that the remote access connection (vista and later operating systems) isn't compatible with windows XP. Don't know if that is the problem your having or not but I thought I'd just mention it.

Thought I'd edit to add that I don't think Windows XP can network with Vista or later Operating systems (windows 7).
__________________

Last edited by dave61; 09-02-2013 at 12:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-02-2013, 02:21 PM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,839

will them two can share some what
*share a folder 1ea document location; my picture, video, music, document,....
* can printer ether one of them from the other windows update install driver for the other system printer.

but windows 7 perm SP1 HHD share F-drive with windows xp pro seem not so
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out

Last edited by Hellfighter; 09-02-2013 at 02:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-02-2013, 03:32 PM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,839

[update]
think i found the how to make win xp work with win 7 fully on network

link: http://www.old-photo.com/pages/netwo...7-problems.htm
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-02-2013, 04:46 PM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,839

will the best i can do is have a folder with in the External Drive F as share and have any guest with in the work network use it

router guest outside to use the network is disable only work group can use it fully

o now windows xp pro can use External Drive without a catch and no error

that link above help a lot

link: http://www.old-photo.com/pages/netwo...7-problems.htm
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
network router


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.




Powered by vBulletin®