Go Back   Novahq.net Forum > Computers > Tech Support

Tech Support Have a problem? Maybe we can help!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2002, 04:08 AM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,621

Panther's Windows XP Support.

I have been having problems with windows XP for awhile now no matter if I do a clean install or just try and mess with settings. I have been looking everywhere for answers to these problems. So I have a little list of problems that I have encountered and fixed. This could be helpfull for some of you with windows xp.

Computer freezez/reboots outa no where?
One thing that I noticed was people with WinXP and AthalonXP processers have this freezing proplem. I have never herd it with the Intel cpu. I fixed this error in my BIOS by turning up the vCore and the I/O Voltage untill it did not freeze anymore. You should not turn it way up right away, just one setting at a time because turning it way up at once could damage your cpu or memory (I messed up my memory trying to see how high I could go so theres your warning). If it dosen't freeze after moving it up 1 setting, leave it alone.

Computer reboots without warning?
Now this one is the worst one that I have been trying to figure out for a long long time. Each re-boot that my system does automatically takes more and more time to re-boot and will eventually get stuck at the loading screen and not be able to recover it. This has happened to me many times. I found a way to stop the auto reboot, and figured out why it does it. The reason behind the 'auto reboot' is there is either a error in the OS,a small system faliure or it's trying to protect your files. I turned this off because when it is on and reboots it crashes my OS and I end up reinstalling anyways. To turn this off go to Start > Control Panel > System > Advanced > Startup and Recovery. De-select Automatically restart. You computer will not 'auto reboot' any longer.

The next thing is, did you know winxp had a Debug option when loading windows incase you are getting serious errors? When my computer rebooted, after time it would slowley screw my OS. So I found a web site that told me to press F8 during the first few screens of the boot process (im not sure which screen, just keep pressing it till it shows), this will bring up and advanced loading screen and the debug option, this fixed the Fastfat problem that I was having from my computer 'auto rebooting' all the time.

Another thing is that stupid Messenger spam! You ever had a message popup outa no where that said "free porn! Go to this website: www.somthing.com" or some other spam? (Look at attachment for example) I got 4 in a row today, they will log your IP if the send is successful. This can only happen to win2000, xp and NT users but it gets very annoying when I am trying to get somthing done, it closes all my programs. I found a way to disable this without downloading some stupid program that isn't needed. To disable This Messenger service do the following:
Start > Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services > Messenger. Click stop, then from the scroll down box select Disabled. Then reboot your computer. If you recieve errors or suddeny programs aren't working enable it again. But I haven't have any spam, or errors with it off.

<b>*********NEW*********</b>

Also, if you have ever downloaded a file on the internet, and Unchecked that box, "Always ask before downloading this type of file." and now you want it to ask again, do this:
Open Explorer, (Otherwords, click on My Computer), Go to Tools > Folder Options > File Types. Now say you want IE to ask you before it automatically opens a ZIP file. Look for the extension "ZIP" in the list, select it, click advanced and then tick the box that sais "Confirm Open after download". That should fix your problems .

I will add to this list cause I seem to have lots of problems. But they are all cleard up now .
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq

Last edited by Scott; 08-05-2005 at 07:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2002, 05:43 AM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,231

Re: Panther's Windows XP Support.

Quote:
Originally posted by ~ÞÄцH£R~
The last thing for this session is that stupid Messenger spam! You ever had a message popup outa no where that said "free porn! Go to this website: www.somthing.com" or some other spam? (Look at attachment for example) I got 4 in a row today, they will log your IP if the send is successful. This can only happen to win2000, xp and NT users but it gets very annoying when I am trying to get somthing done, it closes all my programs. I found a way to disable this without downloading some stupid program that isn't needed. To disable This Messenger service do the following:
Start > Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services > Messenger. Click stop, then from the scroll down box select Disabled. Then reboot your computer. If you recieve errors or suddeny programs aren't working enable it again. But I haven't have any spam, or errors with it off.
disable the 'Administrative Alerts' service as well
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2002, 07:09 PM
BLADE =GH= is offline BLADE =GH=
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 131

Send a message via ICQ to BLADE =GH=
I use XP-Antispy3e to get rid of ALL messenger stuff, I also had probs with Fat32/NTFS swapping around. But all OK now. Oh this antispy give you back the 20% bandwidth Microsoft took from you!
__________________
~ Don't walk back from the clay you might get stabbed ~
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2002, 04:03 AM
Ice Cannon is offline Ice Cannon
Registered User

Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 544

Send a message via ICQ to Ice Cannon
:o

Microsoft theives! - u got a URL there blade m8?
__________________
ICE CaNNoN*AUS*
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2003, 03:31 PM
staffy bull is offline staffy bull

Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,392

to get 20% back with xp pro

goto start menu and click "run"

type in "gpedit.msc" and press enter

expand "computer configuration"

expand "administrative templates"

expand "network"

double click "qos packet scheduler"

in main window double click "limit reservable bandwith"

tick the "enabled" box

alter the bandwith limit from 20% to 0%

apply and ok
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2003, 04:36 PM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,231

what is the reservable b/w for?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2003, 04:44 PM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,231

u can get xp anti-spy here >> http://www.xp-antispy.de/index.html?/news-e.htm
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-12-2003, 09:50 PM
Scott is offline Scott
Scott's Avatar
AKA. Panther

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 10,621

Thanks staffy, ive been looking for that for ages. ZZ showed me once but I forgot. Thanks!
__________________

04' Dodge SRT-4, Mopar Stage 3, 406whp/436wtq
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-12-2003, 11:59 PM
staffy bull is offline staffy bull

Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,392

no problem p

stevie i`m not totally sure but think it`s for networking as xp pro was intended for this it was set as default 20%
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-14-2003, 08:00 PM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,848

Confused

Panther
were was that guy in the form was asking for a tool that makes "MP3 into .wav files" can't seem to find it at all?
can you give me a link to it please

updateok i found it
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out

Last edited by Hellfighter; 03-16-2003 at 08:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-25-2003, 05:56 AM
zza1pqx is offline zza1pqx

Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,629

Send a message via ICQ to zza1pqx Send a message via Yahoo to zza1pqx
Yes I got it from a magazine but the main mag I got it from ran an apology the next issue following a letter from a serious tech head who said that the 20% reservable bandwidth thing was a red herring and the biggest followed myth in windows tweaking history.

The reservable bandwidth is only relevant if you are running an XP driven business network and DOESN'T AFFECT your internet connection under any circumstances. I dont think it will harm you to do it but it doesnt make any difference to your connection.

The magazine researched the techies claim and Microsoft confirmed it is a NON-tweak so dont bother I say.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-25-2003, 10:20 AM
B|OhAzA|2D is offline B|OhAzA|2D
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7

Send a message via AIM to B|OhAzA|2D
One prog I found best for removing Ad and spyware related items is Ad-Aware. Simple, Free and I use it on all the pc's at work

And for the opening up a little more bandwidth, And I have seen this work by doing numerous tests is from SpeedGuide.net

Registry tweaks, that I know have helped a little bit, But the tweaks their are for 98/NT/XP. Granted their is nothing out their that can double ur speed or etc. Just not possible , Sometimes we can be Limited by our isp too, But their is some proven tweaks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-16-2003, 08:12 AM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,848

hi all i have windows me be upgrading it to windows Xp pro soon like to know what i need to do for it and DF1/2/lw/tfd
do i need a spec/patch for these game (DF1/2 think i do?) or have NL already made patch's for these games for Windows Xp try to find out before i get a headack so save me from it thats and any other info you may have in the setting thats be a big help too.
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-16-2003, 08:31 AM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,231

should work - does for me.
even the mission editers.

but if u do have a problem, Nova will not give support to WinXP related probs
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-16-2003, 04:25 PM
SAS*PR* is offline SAS*PR*
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 43

Send a message via ICQ to SAS*PR*
good place to read about WinXP STOP ERRORS:

WINXP TUNE UP


program that i find better the AD AWARE

Spybot S&D


Great tool, FREE, made by MS.. for WinXP.. so u can see what drivers are being loaded, and how to speed up ur Boot Up is this:

Bootvis TOOL


WinXP by far is my favorite OS.. Used them since DOS, used Win3.1 in College, Win95, 98/se ME, 2000 (which i use at work now on a bunch of machines) and WinXP which i use as my Personal box, and the other Box I have at home. I treat my OS like sh%t, and WinXP always works for me. I installed tons of Demo, Beta Software, and other crap and leave it running 24/7.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-16-2003, 04:34 PM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,848

cool thanks windows me been crashing like crazy for me for some 2yrs now really never had a good time with it crashing about ever 1-2 weeks it crash 2-5 times
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-16-2003, 04:46 PM
Steve is offline Steve
Steve's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Angleterre
Posts: 21,231

XP is a rock for me.
just keeps running and running

yeah SAS bootvis is great
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-18-2003, 10:08 AM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,848

ok Mircosoft scan my system everything for Windows Xp Pro it has more to it then the home edition dose or call it basic
need to update:
4-Hardware need to be updated for it, Tv-card/3D-card/sound card/Power DVD player.(updated drivers for xp)

software:
restill 1-Norton system works. setting will chainge need to be restill.

other then that the hard driver will stay the same ref: word doc/game's other software do not need to be restill it said.these setting will be save and updated with windows xp proffessional man that way cool
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-19-2003, 08:55 PM
XenoMorpH is offline XenoMorpH
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 194

I had problems with XP. When I tried to install my soundblaster after a clean installation of XP, it crashed. After another clean installation I could install all drivers etc, but after a while it keep on crashing so I installed 98se again. 1 day I got myself a new Case and put the mainboard into the new case (after cleaning all hardware from dust). I forgot to put in 1 DDR Module, and installed a clean XP without any probs (with drivers and all). When I took a look at my RAM within XP I found out I just had 256 and not 512MB.
I put the other RAM module back into the pc, and booted,it had a crash amediately.

I had 2 different Brands of RAM moduls in it which were having probs with XP.

My tip: make sure ur Hardware isn't giving the probs.
__________________
XëñøMørÞH
«ALIEN SOLDIER OF DELTAFORCE»

[AMD Phenom 9850][2Gig 1066MHz DDR2 @1100MHz][ATI Radeon 4870X2][19" IIYAMA Prolite E480S Flatpanel]
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-27-2003, 11:49 PM
Hellfighter is offline Hellfighter
Hellfighter's Avatar
Chief ADFP

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Jose Calif 95111
Posts: 20,848

yea ok i have to remember that one
i have 4-slots for rimm total 256ram
__________________
*twitter: @chiefadfp Skype: chiefadfp
*US-Military Tribunals News, source: https://c-vine.com
gameplay now days: swtor.com (mainly stuck on)
*Parler: @ChiefAdfp Parler.com
*Coronavirus Global Chart COVID-19
*all type of recall notices: Click-Here check it out
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows xp skins. the Medic™ Tech Support 6 09-06-2005 01:45 PM
New windows Xp update is out: Hellfighter Hardware and Software 0 01-11-2005 09:13 PM
Windows Xp/Xp Pro update release Hellfighter Tech Support 0 04-28-2004 09:08 AM
Windows Xp/Xp Pro repair IE6 Hellfighter Tech Support 2 04-07-2004 06:06 AM
if game play lag offline and online Windows Xp & Xp pro Hellfighter Tech Support 0 12-15-2003 10:10 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.




Powered by vBulletin®