Novahq.net Forum

Novahq.net Forum (https://novahq.net/forum/index.php)
-   Web design and Programming (https://novahq.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   php question (https://novahq.net/forum/showthread.php?t=35149)

BlackMass 06-25-2006 09:07 PM

php question
 
Ok, I have no clue if or how this would be done, because I'm less than a beginner when it comes to php and such. My [ community forums ] has a place at the bottom that tells how many registered members we have, as I'm sure all forums have.

On my [ website ] I have a place on the left section there where I have a php counter ( which I'm proud as hell that I got working ! ) and right below that I post the number of members in the community.

At the moment I just manually change that number. How - or even can I - get that members number from the forum posted on my website so that it will automatically update for me?

Any ideas? I know there are some smart php / code people here to help me out.

IcIshoot 06-25-2006 09:12 PM

I only know of 2 ways: 1: you see if in the forum database there is a field that has the count, and just pull it from there, or 2: you count all the users in your forum users table and display that number.


You using phpnuke or some other cms system? if so, there may be a block that already exists for your forum that may do this automatically

BlackMass 06-25-2006 09:26 PM

No, not phpNuke. Just a plain old website.

I know with my php counter I had to upload more than just the php script. I guessing I would have to do something like that in this situation? Or is it as simple as finding that code and pasting it into the webiste?

IcIshoot 06-25-2006 09:35 PM

yes, with probably some formating code to get it to display where you want it to. which forums do you use?


IcI

Scott 06-25-2006 11:08 PM

Would be easy to tell you if I knew the table structure of ipb.. but I dont and it dosen't look like it's free anymore so i cant check :confused:

your query would look something like

<?
$connect=mysql_connect("localhost","mysql_username ","mysql_password");
$db=mysql_select_db("forum_database");

$query=mysql_query("SELECT user_id FROM users_table");
$total_users=mysql_num_rows($query);

Echo("We have a total of ".intval($total_users)." users in our community.");

mysql_free_result($query);
mysql_close($connect);
?>

SilentTrigger 06-26-2006 02:12 AM

Or just include global.php and grab the user count, same as on the forum :) But counting rows would be alot less work ;)

JonM 06-26-2006 03:03 PM

if your having trouble i'll help set that up for free :) contact me @ mcdonaldcoding@hotmail.com

BlackMass 06-26-2006 09:22 PM

Awesome, I shall e-mail you from my home account in the morning. I'm php-retarded.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®